The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Bureau County

Bureau County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Bureau County (incomplete!): Frederick G. Russell, as of 1950

Republican Party chairs in Bureau County (incomplete!): John J. Thomas, as of 1950 — Barry W. Welbers, as of 2002

Bureau County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: William H. Messenkop
   1916, St. Louis: Cornelius N. Hollerich
   1920, San Francisco: Jay L. Spaulding
   1924, New York: Harlow B. Brown
   1928, Houston: Cornelius N. Hollerich
   1932, Chicago: Harlow B. Brown
   1936, Philadelphia: W. Roy Robinson
   1940, Chicago: Frederick G. Russell
   1944, Chicago: Josef T. Skinner
   1964, Atlantic City: Tobias G. Barry
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Owen Lovejoy
   1896, St. Louis: Edward Burton — Thomas J. Henderson
   1912, Chicago: Cairo A. Trimble
   1916, Chicago: Palmer E. Anderson
   1920, Chicago: Palmer E. Anderson
   1924, Cleveland: Constant Brown
   1928, Kansas City: John R. Knight
   1932, Chicago: H. U. Bailey — Roy E. Brooks
   1936, Cleveland: Cairo A. Trimble
   1940, Philadelphia: William C. Steele
   1948, Philadelphia: William C. Steele
   1952, Chicago: John J. Thomas
   1960, Chicago: Mrs. John W. Bailey
   1968, Miami Beach: William Potter Johnson
   1972, Miami Beach: Louis James Perona

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/BU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]