The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Jefferson County

Jefferson County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Jefferson County (incomplete!): Irma L. Igo, 1948-54 — James R. McLaughlin, as of 1950

Republican Party chairs in Jefferson County (incomplete!): W. Dilas Isaac, as of 1950 — Richard L. Stubblefield, as of 2002

Jefferson County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Zadoc Casey
   1876, St. Louis: Willis Duff Green
   1916, St. Louis: W. Duff Piercy
   1924, New York: Oscar H. Kimmel
   1932, Chicago: Albert Watson
   1936, Philadelphia: George W. Howard, Jr.
   1956, Chicago: Irma L. Igo
   1960, Los Angeles: James R. McLaughlin
   1964, Atlantic City: Irma L. Igo — Clyde Lee — James R. McLaughlin
   1972, Miami Beach: Glenn E. Moore
   1980, New York: Helen Ferguson
   2008, Denver: Gary Duncan — Scherrie Giamanco
Republican National Conventions:
   1880, Chicago: Charles W. Pavey
   1884, Chicago: C. T. Stratton
   1896, St. Louis: H. S. Plummer
   1904, Chicago: George G. Gilbert
   1912, Chicago: Louis L. Emmerson — Curtis Williams
   1920, Chicago: Louis L. Emmerson
   1924, Cleveland: Louis L. Emmerson
   1928, Kansas City: Louis L. Emmerson
   1932, Chicago: Louis L. Emmerson — Andy Hall
   1936, Cleveland: Louis L. Emmerson
   1940, Philadelphia: Louis L. Emmerson — Frank G. Thompson
   1944, Chicago: Harold G. Watson
   1948, Philadelphia: Harold G. Watson
   1952, Chicago: Harold G. Watson
   1956, San Francisco: Harold G. Watson
   1960, Chicago: Harold G. Watson
   1964, San Francisco: Harold G. Watson
   2004, New York: John O. Jones
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/JF-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]