The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Adams County

Adams County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Adams County (incomplete!): Russell M. Gunn, as of 1950

Republican Party chairs in Adams County (incomplete!): Claude J. Kent, as of 1950 — Larry Ehmen, as of 2002-04

Adams County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: William A. Richardson
   1876, St. Louis: Samuel R. Chittenden
   1912, Baltimore: Arthur R. Roy — Hiram N. Wheeler
   1916, St. Louis: William K. Abbott — Lyman McCarl — Jackson R. Pearce
   1920, San Francisco: Joseph W. Wall
   1924, New York: W. Emery Lancaster
   1928, Houston: Mildred B. Dorsey — S. A. Hubbard — W. Emery Lancaster
   1932, Chicago: Laurence P. Bonfoey — Albert A. Hutmacher — W. Emery Lancaster — W. J. Smith
   1936, Philadelphia: J. Leroy Adair — Edward P. Allen — Laurence P. Bonfoey
   1940, Chicago: Edward P. Allen
   1944, Chicago: Laurence P. Bonfoey — Montgomery B. Carrott — Delbert Loos
   1952, Chicago: Montgomery B. Carrott
   1956, Chicago: Joseph E. Heckenkamp — Leo W. Lenane
   1960, Los Angeles: Leo W. Lenane
   1964, Atlantic City: Dora Grow — Leo W. Lenane
   1972, Miami Beach: Don J. Heckenkamp
   1980, New York: Charles W. Scholz
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: John Tillson
   1860, Chicago: Orville H. Browning
   1880, Chicago: Thomas G. Black
   1884, Chicago: W. W. Berry
   1888, Chicago: William L. Distin
   1892, Minneapolis: Joseph Robbins
   1896, St. Louis: J. H. Basterat — Jordan Chavis
   1908, Chicago: Perry C. Ellis
   1912, Chicago: Harlo E. Selby — Charles H. Williamson
   1916, Chicago: James E. Adams
   1920, Chicago: Thomas S. Carlin
   1924, Cleveland: Jerome O. Christie
   1928, Kansas City: Eva M. Martindale
   1932, Chicago: John F. Garner
   1936, Cleveland: Walter M. Miller
   1940, Philadelphia: James P. Nielson
   1944, Chicago: Edward J. Schneidman
   1948, Philadelphia: Lillian E. Schlagenhauf
   1956, San Francisco: Ernest H. Koch
   1964, San Francisco: Robert A. Mays
   1968, Miami Beach: R. Hap Northern
   1972, Miami Beach: R. Hap Northern
   2008, St. Paul: Larry Ehmen
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/AD-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]