The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Madison County

Madison County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Madison County (incomplete!): John Lauer, as of 1950

Republican Party chairs in Madison County (incomplete!): Harry F. Hemphill, as of 1950 — Don Metzler, as of 2002

Madison County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Samuel A. Buckmaster
   1912, Baltimore: Edward E. Campbell — E. Breese Glass
   1916, St. Louis: Joseph C. Faulstich
   1920, San Francisco: Charles Boeschenstein — J. P. Callaghan
   1928, Houston: Charles Boeschenstein
   1932, Chicago: Charles Boeschenstein — Joseph C. Faulstich
   1936, Philadelphia: Charles Boeschenstein — James O. Monroe — Dick H. Mudge
   1940, Chicago: Charles Boeschenstein — Edward E. Campbell
   1944, Chicago: Harry T. Hartman — Leo J. Struif
   1948, Philadelphia: James O. Monroe — Schaefer O'Neill — Fred P. Schuman
   1952, Chicago: James O. Monroe — Schaefer O'Neill
   1956, Chicago: James O. Monroe — Kenneth T. Ogle — Fred P. Schuman
   1960, Los Angeles: Schaefer O'Neill — George T. Wilkins
   1964, Atlantic City: Robert Gibson — William H. Jenkins — George J. Moran — Walter Simmons — George T. Wilkins
   1972, Miami Beach: Buddy W. Davis — Suzanne Funk — Gene H. Graves — Charles L. Hester — Carmen Deist Kerr — James C. Morse — Jeanne Mudge — Lillian Singer — James E. Wallis
   1980, New York: Edna M. Alexander — George W. Donohoo — Katherine Harrison — Charles L. Hester — Woodrow Moad
   1984, San Francisco: Nancy Beckley
   1996, Chicago: Evelyn M. Bowles — Tadas Kicielinski — L. Thomas Lakin — Rudolph Papa — Debbie Saltich
   2000, Los Angeles: L. Thomas Lakin
   2004, Boston: Steve Davis — Adrianna Garcia — Robert Halsey — Jay C. Hoffman — Saundra Hudson — L. Thomas Lakin
   2008, Denver: Sue Ann Buchanan — William Haine — Jay C. Hoffman
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: M. G. Atwood — George T. Brown
   1860, Chicago: F. S. Rutherford
   1880, Chicago: E. Guelsch
   1888, Chicago: William F. L. Hadley — William A. Haskell
   1896, St. Louis: A. H. Kinne
   1908, Chicago: Edmund Beall
   1920, Chicago: William M. Sauvage
   1924, Cleveland: James Duncan — Notley S. Shoulders
   1928, Kansas City: J. F. Gillham
   1932, Chicago: John J. Brenholt, Jr. — William F. Miller
   1936, Cleveland: Gilson Brown
   1940, Philadelphia: C. Parker Levis
   1944, Chicago: Jesse R. Brown
   1948, Philadelphia: Harry F. Hemphill — J. F. Schlafly
   1952, Chicago: J. F. Schlafly
   1956, San Francisco: Phyllis Schlafly — Herbert R. Weder
   1960, Chicago: Phyllis Schlafly
   1964, San Francisco: Phyllis Schlafly
   1968, Miami Beach: Lily P. Chaboude — Phyllis Schlafly — Ralph T. Smith
   2008, St. Paul: Debra Detmers — Tom McRae — Steven Tomaszewski
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/MA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]