The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Clair County

St. Clair County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in St. Clair County (incomplete!): Fred E. Merrills, as of 1950

Republican Party chairs in St. Clair County (incomplete!): Edward M. Irwin, 1898-1924 — Martin Fischer, as of 1950 — Stephen McGlynn, as of 2002

St. Clair County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: Gus A. Koerner
   1904, St. Louis: Fred J. Kern
   1908, Denver: Fred J. Kern
   1912, Baltimore: Bruce A. Campbell — Fred J. Kern
   1916, St. Louis: William N. Baltz
   1920, San Francisco: Maurice V. Joyce
   1924, New York: Bruce A. Campbell — Kevin Kane — J. Nick Perrin
   1928, Houston: Bruce A. Campbell — William A. Moody
   1932, Chicago: Bruce A. Campbell — Charles A. Karch — Robert J. Kern
   1936, Philadelphia: Bruce A. Campbell — Paul Farthing — Robert J. Kern — Samuel Nudelman
   1940, Chicago: Bruce A. Campbell — Chester H. Farthing — Robert L. Kern — Frank M. Summers — John Tierney
   1944, Chicago: Bruce A. Campbell — M. J. Kickham — Hannah M. Weiser
   1948, Philadelphia: Bruce A. Campbell — John L. McCarthy — Frank M. Summers
   1952, Chicago: Bruce A. Campbell — Benjamin O. Cooper — Leo J. Dougherty — Frank M. Summers
   1956, Chicago: Richard T. Carter — Alvin G. Fields — David F. Mallett — Frank M. Summers
   1960, Los Angeles: C. T. Anderson — Doris E. Cochran — Alvin G. Fields — Michael J. Haas — Frank M. Summers
   1964, Atlantic City: C. T. Anderson — Alvin G. Fields — Maurice F. Joseph — Frank M. Summers
   1968, Chicago: Fannie G. Jones
   1972, Miami Beach: Robert L. Bergman — Elmo J. Bush — Mrs. Gordon Bush — Robert A. Calhoun — Alvin G. Fields — Edward F. Horrigan — Kenneth J. Johnson — John M. Karns, Jr. — Sue Kolker — Lula Mae Williams
   1980, New York: Monroe Flinn — Doris Jefferson — Clyde C. Jordan — Janet Kuehn — Betty Jean Mays — Carl E. Officer — Martha R. O'Malley — Riley L. Owens III
   1996, Chicago: John Baricevic — Gordon D. Bush — Georgia Costello — Jerry F. Costello — Sam Flood — Charlotte Moore — Roger Poole
   2000, Los Angeles: Jerry F. Costello — Roger Poole
   2004, Boston: Jerry F. Costello — Molly McKenzie — Toni Perrin — Charles Suarez
   2008, Denver: James Clayborne — Jerry F. Costello — Roger Poole
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: F. A. Carpenter — Francis Grimm
   1860, Chicago: Gustavus Koerner
   1880, Chicago: William E. Kieffner — Charles W. Thomas
   1884, Chicago: R. A. Halbert
   1888, Chicago: James A. Willoughby
   1896, St. Louis: William A. Rodenberg
   1904, Chicago: Charles W. Thomas
   1908, Chicago: William A. Rodenberg — E. H. Smiley
   1912, Chicago: Edward E. Miller
   1916, Chicago: William A. Rodenberg — William E. Trautmann
   1920, Chicago: Rose Marion Boylan — Edward M. Irwin — William A. Rodenberg
   1924, Cleveland: E. H. Smiley
   1928, Kansas City: Dan McGlynn, Jr.
   1932, Chicago: Ed P. Petri
   1936, Cleveland: W. W. Evans — Mrs. G. W. T. Reynolds
   1940, Philadelphia: Dan McGlynn
   1944, Chicago: Dan McGlynn, Jr. — Ruth W. Thomas
   1948, Philadelphia: Earl C. Pollock — Ruth W. Thomas
   1952, Chicago: Kate B. Baird — Henry A. Schwarz — John T. Thomas
   1956, San Francisco: Wetzel G. Harness — Ralph D. Walker
   1960, Chicago: Wetzel G. Harness — Robert D. Kelce — E. L. Rauth
   1964, San Francisco: Russell H. Classen — Patricia D. Kelce — Ralph D. Walker
   1968, Miami Beach: Russell H. Classen — Herbert A. Jackson — Ralph D. Walker — Wilson H. West
   1972, Miami Beach: Herbert A. Jackson — James W. McRoberts, Jr. — Nancy Joan Meyer — Wilson H. West
   2004, New York: Mary Margaret McGlynn
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: George W. Ralph
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/SC-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]