The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Newaygo County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Newaygo County

Index to Locations

  • Dayton Center Dayton Center Cemetery
  • Fremont Maple Grove Cemetery
  • Fremont Maplegrove Cemetery
  • Grant Ashland Center Cemetery
  • Newaygo Newaygo Cemetery

    Dayton Center Cemetery
    Dayton Center, Newaygo County, Michigan
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      David Henry Brake (1864-1937) — also known as David H. Brake — of near Fremont, Newaygo County, Mich. Born in Waterloo, Ontario, December 3, 1864. Republican. Farmer; member of Michigan state house of representatives, 1923-28, 1931-32 (Newaygo County 1923-26, Newaygo District 1927-28, 1931-32). Member, Freemasons; Grange; Maccabees. Died, from lung cancer, in Dayton Center, Newaygo County, Mich., March 18, 1937 (age 72 years, 105 days). Interment at Dayton Center Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Abraham B. Brake (1838-1897) and Caroline (Cosens) Brake (1841-1914); married to Bertha Marcia Hale (1868-1955); father of David Hale Brake (1891-1979).
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Maple Grove Cemetery
    Fremont, Newaygo County, Michigan
    Politicians buried here:
    Stephen S. Nisbet Stephen Sutherland Nisbet (1895-1986) — also known as Stephen S. Nisbet — of Fremont, Newaygo County, Mich. Born in Tawas City, Iosco County, Mich., May 28, 1895. Republican. Served in the U.S. Navy during World War I; school teacher and principal; superintendent of schools; vice-president, Gerber Baby Foods; bank director; member of Michigan state board of education, 1943-61; appointed 1943; delegate to Republican National Convention from Michigan, 1960 (member, Resolutions Committee); delegate to Michigan state constitutional convention from 26th Senatorial District, 1961-62; member of Michigan State University board of trustees, 1964-70. Congregationalist. Member, American Legion; Freemasons; Phi Delta Kappa; Rotary. Died in Riverside County, Calif., July 3, 1986 (age 91 years, 36 days). Interment at Maple Grove Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Laura (Black) Nisbet (1866-1961) and James Herbert Nisbet (1868-1948); married, August 20, 1920, to Dorcas Sammons (1895-1980).
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial
      Image source: Michigan Manual 1957-58

    Maplegrove Cemetery
    Fremont, Newaygo County, Michigan
    Politicians buried here:
      Don VanderWerp (1885-1971) — of Fremont, Newaygo County, Mich. Born in Grand Rapids, Kent County, Mich., September 14, 1885. Republican. Newspaper editor and publisher; member of Michigan state house of representatives from Newaygo District, 1933-34, 1961-64; member of Michigan state senate 26th District, 1935-56; defeated in primary, 1956, 1958. Methodist. Dutch ancestry. Member, Freemasons; Shriners; Grange; Farm Bureau. Died June 24, 1971 (age 85 years, 283 days). Interment at Maplegrove Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married 1930 to Mildred Hekhuis; nephew of John Vanderwerp (1866-1939).

    Ashland Center Cemetery
    Grant, Newaygo County, Michigan
    Politicians buried here:
      Sullivan Armstrong (1821-1890) — of Ashland, Newaygo County, Mich. Born in Riga, Monroe County, N.Y., March 3, 1821. Republican. Member of Michigan state house of representatives from Newaygo County, 1873-76; candidate for Lieutenant Governor of Michigan, 1880. Died in Fremont, Newaygo County, Mich., January 31, 1890 (age 68 years, 334 days). Interment at Ashland Center Cemetery.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Newaygo Cemetery
    Newaygo, Newaygo County, Michigan
    Politicians buried here:
      William Aldrich Tateum (1859-1957) — also known as William A. Tateum — of Kent County, Mich. Born in 1859. Member of Michigan state house of representatives from Kent County 1st District, 1893-94; Speaker of the Michigan State House of Representatives, 1893. Died May 15, 1957 (age about 97 years). Interment at Newaygo Cemetery.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/NE-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]