The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Michigan: House Speakers

Speakers of the Michigan State House of Representatives, 1835-2000 (May be incomplete!)
Ezra Convis 1835-36 Charles W. Whipple 1837 Kinsley S. Bingham 1838-39 Henry Acker 1840 Philo C. Fuller 1841 John Biddle 1841 Kinsley S. Bingham 1842 Robert McClelland 1843 Edwin H. Lothrop 1844 Alfred H. Hanscom 1845 Isaac E. Crary 1846 George W. Peck 1847 Alexander W. Buel 1848 Leander Chapman 1849 Silas G. Harris 1850 Jefferson G. Thurber 1851-52 Daniel G. Quackenboss 1853-54 Cyrus Lovell 1855 Byron G. Stout 1857-58 Henry A. Shaw 1859-60 Dexter Mussey 1861-62 Sullivan M. Cutcheon 1863-64 Gilbert E. Read 1865-66 P. Dean Warner 1867-68 Jonathan J. Woodman 1869-72 Charles M. Croswell 1873-74 John P. Hoyt 1875-76 John T. Rich 1877-80 Seth C. Moffatt 1881-82 Sumner Howard 1883-84 Newcomb Clark 1885-86 Daniel P. Markey 1887-88 Gerrit J. Diekema 1889-90 Philip B. Wachtel 1891-92 William A. Tateum 1893 William D. Gordon 1895-98 Edgar J. Adams 1899-1900 John J. Carton 1901-04 Sheridan F. Master 1905-06 Nicholas J. Whelan 1907-08 Colin P. Campbell 1909-10 Herbert F. Baker 1911-12 Gilbert A. Currie 1913-14 Charles W. Smith 1915-16 Wayne R. Rice 1917-18 Thomas Read 1919-20 Fred L. Warner 1921-22 George W. Welsh 1923-24 Fred B. Wells 1925-26 Lynn C. Gardner 1927-28 Fred R. Ming 1929-32 Martin R. Bradley 1933-34 George A. Schroeder 1935-38 Howard Nugent 1939-46 Victor A. Knox 1947-52 Wade Van Valkenberg 1953-56 George M. Van Peursem 1957-58 Don R. Pears 1959-62 Allison Green 1963-64 Joseph J. Kowalski 1965-66 Robert E. Waldron 1967-68 William A. Ryan 1969-74 Bobby D. Crim 1975-82 Gary M. Owen 1983-88 Lewis N. Dodak 1989-92 Paul Hillegonds 1995-96 Curtis Hertel 1997-98 Charles R. Perricone 2000

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1841 Apr 3: Philo C. Fuller, resigned.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/spkr.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]