The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Illinois Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Illinois Delegates to Republican National Conventions: very incomplete!

Illinois Republican Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Adams - Alexander - Bond - Boone - Brown - Bureau - Calhoun - Carroll - Cass - Champaign - Christian - Clark - Clay - Clinton - Coles - Cook - Crawford - Cumberland - DeKalb - DeWitt - Douglas - DuPage - Edgar - Edwards - Effingham - Fayette - Ford - Franklin - Fulton - Gallatin - Greene - Grundy - Hamilton - Hancock - Hardin - Henderson - Henry - Iroquois - Jackson - Jasper - Jefferson - Jersey - Jo Daviess - Johnson - Kane - Kankakee - Kendall - Knox - Lake - La Salle - Lawrence - Lee - Livingston - Logan - Macon - Macoupin - Madison - Marion - Marshall - Mason - Massac - McDonough - McHenry - McLean - Menard - Mercer - Monroe - Montgomery - Morgan - Moultrie - Ogle - Peoria - Perry - Piatt - Pike - Pope - Pulaski - Putnam - Randolph - Richland - Rock Island - SAINT Clair - Saline - Sangamon - Schuyler - Scott - Shelby - Stark - Stephenson - Tazewell - Union - Vermilion - Wabash - Warren - Washington - Wayne - White - Whiteside - Will - Williamson - Winnebago - Woodford

Republican state chairs, 1896-2008 (Incomplete!)

Charles P. Hitch as of 1896 Roy O. West as of 1904-14 Fred E. Sterling as of 1916 Frank L. Smith as of 1919-25 G. J. Johnson as of 1928 Cornelius J. Doyle as of 1931 John F. Tyrrell as of 1937 A. K. Stiles as of 1938 Ben L. Berve 1940-44 Richard Y. Rowe 1944 John F. Tyrrell as of 1945 Morton H. Hollingsworth as of 1955 Stanley H. Guyer as of 1957-58 Victor L. Smith as of 1967 Richard S. Williamson 1999-2001 Andy McKenna as of 2008

Republican state vice-chairs, 1978 (Incomplete!)

Thomas Milburn Anderson, Jr. as of 1978

Members of Republican National Committee, 1856-2008 (Incomplete!)

Norman B. Judd 1856 Burton C. Cook 1866-68 J. Russel Jones 1868-70 Charles B. Farwell 1870-72 J. Y. Scammon 1872- T. N. Jamieson as of 1896 Frank O. Lowden 1904-12 Roy O. West 1912-16 Lawrence Y. Sherman as of 1916-24 Ruth Hanna McCormick 1924-28 Fred W. Upham 1924 Allen F. Moore as of 1925 Roy O. West as of 1928-32 Frank L. Smith as of 1932 Bertha D. Baur as of 1937-43 George F. Harding, Jr. as of 1937 Hill Blackett as of 1939 C. Wayland Brooks as of 1939-52 Werner W. Schroeder as of 1940-43 Mrs. Wesley M. Dixon as of 1952 Morton H. Hollingsworth as of 1952 Robert D. Stuart, Jr. 1964-72 Audrey R. Peak as of 1967 Mary Jo Arndt as of 2008 Robert Kjellander as of 2008

Republican state party secretaries, 1910-43 (Incomplete!)

Edward St. Clair as of 1910 Charles E. Peace as of 1925 William R. Allen as of 1937 Lester J. Norris as of 1938 Clement A. Nance as of 1943

Republican state party treasurers, 1925-48 (Incomplete!)

Clifford Ireland as of 1925 George R. Perrine as of 1942-48

Members of Republican State Central Committee, 1878-1982 (Incomplete!)

Members of Republican State Committee, 1905 (Incomplete!)

Fred A. Busse as of 1905

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/IL.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]