The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Missouri Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Missouri Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Missouri Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Adair - Andrew - Atchison - Audrain - Barry - Barton - Bates - Benton - Bollinger - Boone - Buchanan - Butler - Caldwell - Callaway - Camden - Cape Girardeau - Carroll - Carter - Cass - Cedar - Chariton - Christian - Clark - Clay - Clinton - Cole - Cooper - Crawford - Dade - Dallas - Daviess - DeKalb - Dent - Douglas - Dunklin - Franklin - Gasconade - Gentry - Greene - Grundy - Harrison - Henry - Hickory - Holt - Howard - Howell - Iron - Jackson - Jasper - Jefferson - Johnson - Knox - Laclede - Lafayette - Lawrence - Lewis - Lincoln - Linn - Livingston - Macon - Madison - Maries - Marion - McDonald - Mercer - Miller - Mississippi - Moniteau - Monroe - Montgomery - Morgan - New Madrid - Newton - Nodaway - Oregon - Osage - Ozark - Pemiscot - Perry - Pettis - Phelps - Pike - Platte - Polk - Pulaski - Putnam - Ralls - Randolph - Ray - Reynolds - Ripley - SAINT Charles - SAINT Clair - SAINT Francois - SAINT Louis - SAINTE Genevieve - Saline - Schuyler - Scotland - Scott - Shannon - Shelby - Stoddard - Stone - Sullivan - Taney - Texas - Vernon - Warren - Washington - Wayne - Webster - Worth - Wright

Democratic state chairs, 1896-2008 (Incomplete!)

Sam B. Cook 1896-1900 Joseph B. Shannon as of 1910 James Cowgill 1916 Joshua Barbee as of 1925 Samuel W. Fordyce as of 1929 Charles M. Howell as of 1930-31 James P. Aylward 1934-40 Richard R. Nacy as of 1945 John H. Hendren as of 1949 Wilbur F. Daniels as of 1955-58 Roger B. Wilson 2004-07 John Temporiti as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1968-2008 (Incomplete!)

Ruth Barnes 1968-73 Yolanda Wheat as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

John G. Priest as of 1876-80 John G. Prather as of 1888 William J. Stone 1896-1904 Lincoln Curtis Chenoweth 1904 Edward F. Goltra as of 1912-21 Mattie Hocker 1920 Mrs. Charles B. Faris as of 1929 William T. Kemper as of 1929 James P. Aylward 1934-44 Elsie Belle McDaniel as of 1940 John J. Nangle as of 1947 Sallie Hailey as of 1966-67 Shirley S. Butters as of 1968-71 Doug Brooks as of 2004-08 Mark Bryant as of 2004-08 Joe Carmichael as of 2004 Sharon Carpenter as of 2004 Emanuel Cleaver as of 2004 Sandra A. Querry as of 2004-08 May Scheve Reardon as of 2004 Robin Carnahan as of 2008 Maria Chappelle-Nadal as of 2008 Leila Medley as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1888-1937 (Incomplete!)

J. W. Zevely as of 1888 Thomas B. Love 1896-98 Lula M. Barry as of 1937

Democratic state party treasurers, 1896-1942 (Incomplete!)

Frederick G. Ziebig 1896-1900 John J. Nangle 1933-42

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1886-88 (Incomplete!)

Samuel Byrns as of 1886-88 Ada Belle Mills Nale 1920

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1864-1981 (Incomplete!)

Charles H. Mansur 1864-68 J. W. Farley 1906-10 Benjamin G. Brinkmann as of 1916 Thomas J. Daggs 1920-22 W. B. Whitlow 1937-39 John E. Downs 1956-57 J. B. 'Jet' Banks as of 1981

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/MO.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]