The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Charles County

St. Charles County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in St. Charles County (incomplete!): C. W. Wilson, as of 1903 — W. H. Bates, as of 1921 — Guy C. Motley, as of 1939 — Clem A. Buerges, as of 1949

Republican Party chairs in St. Charles County (incomplete!): Otto Boekemeier, as of 1949

St. Charles County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: W. J. W. McIlhany
   1924, New York: Mrs. W. Lee Parsons
   1928, Houston: Tess Neff
   1940, Chicago: Hazel Oldenburg
   1956, Chicago: C. A. Goellner, Jr.
   1960, Los Angeles: Frank X. Reller
   1996, Chicago: William Booth — Bob Cross — Jerry Guinn — Rose Kasper
   2004, Boston: John Hanneke — Linda Jacobsen — Mark Miles
   2008, Denver: Cheryl Hibbeler — Kristy Manning — Brynn Palmer
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Arnold Krekel
   1884, Chicago: Theodore Bruere
   1888, Chicago: A. F. Mispagel
   1896, St. Louis: A. F. Mispagel
   1900, Philadelphia: Theodore Bruere
   1908, Chicago: Elwood Gut
   1916, Chicago: John C. Brown
   1932, Chicago: John Schulze
   1936, Cleveland: Lillian Trump
   1948, Philadelphia: Omar Schnatmeier
   1952, Chicago: Robert V. Niedner
   1956, San Francisco: Ruth Neubeiser
   1960, Chicago: Jean Baggerman
   1972, Miami Beach: Arlie H. Meyer
   2004, New York: Ernest Dempsey
   2008, St. Paul: James Michael Dudley — Monica Durrwachter
   2012, Tampa: Deborah Demien — Tom Dempsey — Penny Henke — Mary Johnson — Jennifer Meyer — Zoe Soto-Gilbert
   2016, Cleveland: Carl Bearden — John Combest — Ernest Dempsey — David Guest — Andrew Olson — Robert Onder, Jr.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/SC-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]