The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Louis County

St. Louis County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in St. Louis County (incomplete!): J. B. Sudduth, as of 1903 — J. Thomas Wright, as of 1921 — Richard F. Surkamp, as of 1939 — George Breitenstein, as of 1949

Republican Party chairs in St. Louis County (incomplete!): Erwin F. Vetter, as of 1949

St. Louis County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: John T. Byrne
   1916, St. Louis: J. C. Roberts
   1940, Chicago: E. E. Parshall
   1944, Chicago: Mae Chadwick — Joseph Jannuzzo — Mary Daly Royle
   1948, Philadelphia: William J. Becker — Jessie F. Coleman — Marie Corrigan — Elsie McBride — Louise Grant Smith
   1952, Chicago: Harold J. Gibbons — Rose Gillen — Mary Girard — Leo J. Hayes — Elsie McBride
   1956, Chicago: George Breitenstein — Helen Burke — Mildred Charter — Ralph Devereaux — Margaret Drager — Harold J. Gibbons — Leo J. Hayes — James H. Meredith — Sidney Salomon — Louise Grant Smith — Stuart Symington
   1960, Los Angeles: Ralph Devereaux — Margaret Drager — Leo J. Hayes — Margaret Klein — James H. Meredith — Ruth Montgomery — Stuart Symington — Robert A. Young III
   1964, Atlantic City: Robert A. Young III
   1996, Chicago: Burton Boxerman — Kathleen Burkett — Margaret Donnelly — Thomas George — Christine Guinther — John Hickey — Eugene O. Martin — Norma Mitchell — May E. Scheve — Elizabeth Van Uum
   2004, Boston: Burton Boxerman — Charlie Dooley — Brian Fletcher — Lee Etta Hoskins — Gulten Ilhan — Robert Levine — Robert G. Lowery, Sr. — Loraine Miller — Martha Ott — Jessica Post — Asma Raza — Michael Schmid — Elizabeth Van Uum
   2008, Denver: Maria Chappelle-Nadal — Sreenivasa R. Dandamudi — Lori Hatton-Rasmussen — Janice Hoffman — Robert G. Lowery, Sr. — Marianne Solare — Tammy Vent — Harold L. Whittfield
Republican National Conventions:
   1888, Chicago: Robert C. Allen
   1896, St. Louis: Gustavus A. Wurdeman
   1900, Philadelphia: Emil Dosenbach
   1908, Chicago: Rowland L. Johnston — Samuel W. Will
   1912, Chicago: Frederick Essen — John Wiethaupt
   1916, Chicago: Albert E. L. Gardner
   1920, Chicago: Frederick Essen
   1924, Cleveland: Daniel M. Kerckhoff
   1932, Chicago: Edwin F. Stockho
   1936, Cleveland: Amandus Brackman — Mrs. Walter R. Douglas — Oscar H. Jacobsmeyer
   1940, Philadelphia: F. William Autenrieth
   1944, Chicago: F. William Autenrieth — C. Wheeler Detjen
   1948, Philadelphia: F. William Autenrieth — Forrest C. Donnell — Rose Fearnley — Etta M. Henley — Alfred H. Kerth — Jane Smith
   1952, Chicago: Viola P. Beckey — Edwin F. Vieth
   1956, San Francisco: Ann R. Becker — Norman C. Parker — May Shaw — Hortense Walters
   1960, Chicago: Betty Boecker — Katherine McCarty — Joseph B. Moore — Marion Thomas — Edwin F. Vieth
   1964, San Francisco: Gloria J. Ascoli — Robert D. Crawford — Thomas B. Curtis — Harold J. DeRouse — Carolyn Kennedy — Lawrence J. Meisel — John A. Stormer — Marion Thomas
   1968, Miami Beach: Gloria J. Ascoli — Barbara Bleikamp — E. M. Bromwich — R. J. 'Bus' King, Jr. — Erle Lionberger — Ann McGraw — John F. Nangle — Howard Percy — Al Perrier — Donald L. Twedell — Marvin Young
   1972, Miami Beach: Gloria J. Ascoli — Frank Bild — Alfred J. Fleischer — Florence Heil — Mrs. Erle Lionberger — Mary Mallien — Katherine McCarty — Mrs. Eyvon Mendenhall — John F. Nangle — Lawrence K. Roos
   2004, New York: Stephen Banton — Neal Breitweiser — William Bush — Barbara Cooper — Jeanne Hacker — Catherine Hanaway — Anthony Ramirez — John Rodriguez — Phyllis Schlafly — James M. Talent — Ann Wagner — John Winston
   2008, St. Paul: Bruce Buwalda — Barbara Cooper — Karen Day — Kathlyn Fares — Charlotte Fink — Carmelo Gabriele — Georgann Hancock — Mark F. Hearne — Arleen Jackson — Jackie Jackson — James W. Knowles III — Al J. Koller — Sandy Koller — Richard J. Magee — Daniel F. O'Sullivan, Jr. — Tyler Michael Rhodes — Cheri Rotskoff — Phyllis Schlafly — James M. Talent
   2012, Tampa: Herbert Baumann — Kimberly Benz — Tim Blessing — Craig Borchelt — Dennis Broadbooks — Rich Chrismer — Rebecca Davidson — Catherine Hanaway — John Hancock — Mark F. Hearne — Chris Howard — Allen Icet — Timothy W. Jones — Richard J. Magee — Maryann Rober — Nancy Robinson — Cheri Rotskoff — Phyllis Schlafly — Lynn Schmidt — Eric Schmitt — James M. Talent
   2016, Cleveland: Kimberly Benz — Jennifer Bird — Adam Bohn — Bruce Buwalda — Madeleine Castle — Jim Cooper — John Hancock — Mark Harder — Chris Howard — Timothy W. Jones — Amy Poelker — Phyllis Schlafly — Patricia Voigt
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/SS-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]