The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Franklin County

Franklin County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Franklin County (incomplete!): James Booth, as of 1903 — John T. Williams, as of 1921 — James Wade, as of 1939 — William Ryan, as of 1943 — Herbert C. Wilkinson, as of 1949 — Leslie J. Reed, as of 1967

Republican Party chairs in Franklin County (incomplete!): Louis B. Eckelkamp, as of 1949

Franklin County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: J. F. Mense
   1904, St. Louis: J. R. Dunegan
   1928, Houston: Cora H. Peters
   1956, Chicago: Virginia Anding
   1996, Chicago: Susan McGlynn
Republican National Conventions:
   1884, Chicago: Daniel Q. Gale
   1888, Chicago: John R. Martin
   1896, St. Louis: Charles F. Gallenkamp
   1900, Philadelphia: J. H. Fisher
   1912, Chicago: Oscar A. Meyersieck
   1920, Chicago: Mrs. W. L. Cole
   1924, Cleveland: E. A. Stierberger
   1928, Kansas City: William L. Cole
   1932, Chicago: Gertrude M. Steiner
   1936, Cleveland: Frank W. Jenny
   1940, Philadelphia: Leola E. Haid
   1944, Chicago: Leola E. Haid — Lawrence J. C. Meyer
   1948, Philadelphia: Leola E. Haid
   1952, Chicago: Louis B. Eckelkamp
   1956, San Francisco: Leola E. Haid
   1964, San Francisco: Ted W. Gross
   2008, St. Paul: Susan E. Eckelkamp — Joy Gerstein
   2012, Tampa: Susan E. Eckelkamp — Joy Gerstein — Cheryl Jansen
   2016, Cleveland: Paul Curtman — Susan E. Eckelkamp — Joy Gerstein
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/FR-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]