The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Missouri Delegation to the
1996 Democratic National Convention

Delegation chair: Mel Carnahan

Delegates (may be incomplete!)
Vicki Abernathy, Jackson - Sandy Allison, Rolla - Gracia Y. Backer, New Bloomfield - J. B. 'Jet' Banks, St. Louis - Sharon Bearden, Piedmont - William Booth, St. Charles - Freeman Bosley, Jr., St. Louis - Jerilyn Bowie-Hill, St. Louis - Burton Boxerman, Olivette - Christy Broce, Kansas City - Doug Brooks, Joplin - Beverly Buchheit, St. Louis - Kathleen Burkett, Overland - Eugene Bushmann, Jefferson City - William Caldwell, Dearborn - Joe Carmichael, Springfield - Mel Carnahan, Rolla - Paula J. Carter, St. Louis - Harold Caskey, Butler - Kay Caskey, Butler - Lois Cason, Clinton - Mary Lou Cassity, Milan - William L. Clay, Sr. - Lacy Clay, Jr., St. Louis - Emanuel Cleaver, Kansas City - Mildred Conner, Malta Bend - Rebecca M. Cook - Velda Cook, Kansas City - Nancy Copenhaver, Moberly - Bob Cross, Wentzville - Duane Cruzan, Mexico - Ruth Ann Culton, Bonne Terre - Fletcher Daniels, Kansas City - Pat Danner - Rita Days, St. Louis - Gary Deaver, Springfield - Margaret Donnelly, Ferguson - Charles Dumsky, Sugar Creek - Etha Eaton, Liberty - Chester B. Edwards, Columbia - Steve Gaw, Moberly - Thomas George, Florissant - Richard A. Gephardt, St. Louis - Darlene Green, St. Louis - Carmen E. Guerra, Kansas City - Jerry Guinn, St. Charles - Christine Guinther, Ballwin - John Hickey, Bridgeton - Bob Holden - John H. Hollingsworth, Festus - Dotty S. Hubbard, Hannibal - Alyissa Hughes, Kansas City - Patrick Hughes, Kansas City - Annemarie Jackson, Kansas City - Rose Kasper, St. Charles - Richard King, St. Louis - Marie Lammert, St. Louis - Janis Londe, St. Louis - Gustav H. Lumpe, St. Louis - Beth Mahn, Hillsboro - Janice Manning, Liberty - Eugene O. Martin, Cool Valley - Karen McCarthy - Claire McCaskill, Kansas City - Susan McGlynn, St. Clair - Hilde McLaughlin, St. Louis - Mike McMillan, St. Louis - John McNay, Jamestown - Norma Mitchell, Florissant - Lew Moye, St. Louis - Donna Mueller, Jefferson City - Jay Nixon, De Soto - Avis Parman, Albany - Pam Payne, Kansas City - Rick Pope, Camdenton - May Scheve Reardon, Affton - Phyllis Robertson, Qulin - Ruby Sapp, Joplin - Patt Sharp, Kennett - Ike Skelton - Steve Slover, Potosi - Russ Steele, Kirksville - Nelson Thompson, Kansas City - Jeanne Van Lengen-Taylor, Neosho - Elizabeth Van Uum, University City - Lu Vaughan, Independence - Harold L. Volkmer - James Wahl, St. Louis - Earl Walker, St. Louis - George Westfall, St. Louis - Nancy K. Wilson, Columbia - Delbert Wright, Turney - Ronald Yersak, Dexter

Alternates (may be incomplete!)
Ken Bacchus, Kansas City - Anita Banks, St. Louis - Thomas J. Campell, St. Louis - Jack Hackely, Oak Grove - Jacqueline Hansen, Grain Valley - Viola Jokerst, Ste. Genevieve - Dian Lawson, Paris - Hila Newman, Kansas City - Philip G. Smith, Louisiana - Mavis Thompson, St. Louis - Craig Whitney, Gladstone - Joel Womack, Liberty - Shep Woolford, Springfield

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/1996/MO.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]