The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Jasper County

Jasper County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Jasper County (incomplete!): Obe Witmer, as of 1903 — Alfred L. McCawley, as of 1921 — Walter Ragland, as of 1939 — Paul F. Van Pool, as of 1943 — Don O. Adamson, as of 1949 — Vernie Crandall, as of 1967

Republican Party chairs in Jasper County (incomplete!): Arnold Leonard, as of 1949 — Gene Taylor, 1958

Jasper County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: R. H. Rose
   1896, Chicago: O. W. Killam
   1904, St. Louis: Lincoln Curtis Chenoweth
   1912, Baltimore: Gilbert Barbee — Thomas Hackney
   1916, St. Louis: Jesse F. Osbourn — William H. Phelps
   1920, San Francisco: Martha Taaffe
   1928, Houston: A. W. Thurman
   1940, Chicago: Mrs. J. I. Boyd
   1944, Chicago: Don C. Grafton — R. A. Mooneyham
   1948, Philadelphia: Oll Rogers
   1956, Chicago: Mrs. John Keener — Bennett Wilson
   1960, Los Angeles: Jack Fleischaker — Beth Tudor
   1996, Chicago: Doug Brooks — Ruby Sapp
   2000, Los Angeles: Doug Brooks
   2004, Boston: Doug Brooks — Sue Cowen — Steve Daniels
   2008, Denver: Doug Brooks
Republican National Conventions:
   1884, Chicago: Charles Claflin Allen
   1888, Chicago: Joseph C. Stewart
   1896, St. Louis: T. B. Haughawout
   1900, Philadelphia: Arthur H. Spencer — J. H. Spencer
   1908, Chicago: James R. Holmes — C. E. Matthews
   1912, Chicago: Hugh McIndoe — C. S. Walden
   1916, Chicago: Wallace Porter
   1920, Chicago: T. J. Franks — Vennona Swan
   1924, Cleveland: George W. Moore
   1928, Kansas City: Howard Gray — Helen Lang Rogers
   1932, Chicago: Frank Childress — Helen Lang Rogers
   1936, Cleveland: Helen Lang Rogers
   1944, Chicago: Guy H. Waring
   1948, Philadelphia: Ethel Mattes
   1952, Chicago: Loyd E. Roberts
   1956, San Francisco: William C. Putnam
   1960, Chicago: Gene Taylor
   1964, San Francisco: Frank S. Fenix
   1968, Miami Beach: Gene Taylor
   1972, Miami Beach: Larry Taylor — Maryetta E. White
   2004, New York: Lance Beshore — Rita Hunter — Ron Richard
   2008, St. Paul: Lance Beshore — Sharon Beshore — Brenda Myers — Nick Myers — Gary Nodler — Patty Richard — Ron Richard
   2012, Tampa: Lance Beshore — Nick Myers — John Putnam — Ron Richard — Alan Snow
   2016, Cleveland: Lance Beshore — Tom Flanigan — Nick Myers — Ron Richard — Margaret Yaudas
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/JS-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]