The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Greene County

Greene County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Greene County (incomplete!): George A. McCollum, as of 1903 — Sam W. Wear, as of 1921 — Fred A. Moon, as of 1939 — Robert M. Rawls, as of 1943 — Charles W. Riley, as of 1949 — Robert C. Fields, as of 1967

Republican Party chairs in Greene County (incomplete!): C. Arch Bay, as of 1949 — Paul L. Bradshaw, 1965-70

Greene County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Peter Singleton Wilkes
   1912, Baltimore: Lee Savage — J. T. Woodruff
   1916, St. Louis: Harry D. Durst
   1924, New York: Perry Allen
   1928, Houston: Frank M. McDavid
   1940, Chicago: Fred A. Moon
   1944, Chicago: Sam M. Wear
   1948, Philadelphia: Mrs. Harry Bissett — H. D. Chinn
   1952, Chicago: Richard Farrington — J. Howard Hannah — Mrs. Clark M. Howell — Hazel Mann
   1956, Chicago: Ray Daniel — J. Howard Hannah
   1960, Los Angeles: Charles Brown — Denton H. Smith
   1996, Chicago: Joe Carmichael — Gary Deaver — Shep Woolford
   2000, Los Angeles: Joe Carmichael
   2004, Boston: Joe Carmichael — Rose Marie Carmichael — Lisa Cooper — Edward Janosik — Sondra Vaught
   2008, Denver: Angela D. Acree — Akeam Ashford — Stephen Eisele — Tamila Gresham — William C. Hosmer — Vicky Tripee
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: John M. Richardson
   1868, Chicago: James H. Creighton
   1884, Chicago: Harrison E. Havens
   1888, Chicago: W. S. Johnson
   1900, Philadelphia: Frank D. Roberts
   1908, Chicago: Harry E. Patton
   1912, Chicago: Richard Johnson — John W. Tippin
   1916, Chicago: William S. Wade
   1924, Cleveland: O. E. Gorman
   1928, Kansas City: Ben J. Harrison
   1932, Chicago: Arthur M. Curtis — O. L. Robinett
   1936, Cleveland: O. L. Robinett
   1940, Philadelphia: Della E. Roberts
   1944, Chicago: Maude Cassity — Howard C. Potter
   1948, Philadelphia: Jerry W. Owens
   1952, Chicago: C. Arch Bay
   1956, San Francisco: Mrs. Charles Meek, Jr.
   1960, Chicago: Maude Ingram — Walter Whinery
   1964, San Francisco: Durward G. Hall
   1968, Miami Beach: T. E. Ferrell
   1972, Miami Beach: John P. Ferguson — H. Azell Morris
   2004, New York: Darrell Proctor — Cindy Stein
   2008, St. Paul: Matt Blunt — Jeffery L. Layman — Sharon Nahon — Darrell Proctor
   2012, Tampa: Gordon Kinne — Danette Proctor
   2016, Cleveland: Eric W. Burlison — Josh Haynes — Curtis Jared — Gordon Kinne — Bryan Magers — Danette Proctor — William Roaseau
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/GR-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]