The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Fort Bend County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Fort Bend County

Index to Locations

  • Private or family graveyards
  • Richmond Morton Cemetery

    Private or family graveyard
    Fort Bend County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Thomas Barnett (1798-1843) — of Livingston County, Ky.; Fort Bend County, Tex. Born in Logan County, Ky., January 18, 1798. Livingston County Sheriff, 1820; delegate to Texas Consultation of 1835 from District of San Felipe de Austin, 1835; signer, Texas Declaration of Independence, 1836; delegate to Texas Republic Republic constitutional convention from District of San Felipe de Austin, 1836; member of Texas Republic House of Representatives, 1840. Died near Rosenberg, Fort Bend County, Tex., September 20, 1843 (age 45 years, 245 days). Interment in a private or family graveyard.
    Politicians formerly buried here:
      Benjamin Franklin Terry (1821-1861) — also known as Frank Terry — Born in Russellville, Logan County, Ky., February 18, 1821. Planter; in 1844, he was attacked by two rebellious slaves with knives and axes; railroad builder; delegate to Texas secession convention, 1861; colonel in the Confederate Army during the Civil War. Shot and killed in action while leading Terry's Texas Rangers at the battle of Woodsonville (also called Rowlett's Station), in Hart County, Ky., December 17, 1861 (age 40 years, 302 days). Original interment at in a private or family graveyard; reinterment in 1880 at Glenwood Cemetery, Houston, Tex.
      Presumably named for: Benjamin Franklin
      Relatives: Son of Joseph Royal Terry (1792-1877) and Sarah David (Smith) Terry (1793-1837); brother of David Smith Terry (1823-1889); married, October 12, 1841, to Mary Bingham (1821-1876).
      Political family: Runnels-Terry family of Houston, Texas.
      Terry County, Tex. is named for him.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Morton Cemetery
    Richmond, Fort Bend County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Mirabeau Buonaparte Lamar (1798-1859) — also known as Mirabeau B. Lamar — of Texas. Born near Louisville, Jefferson County, Ga., August 16, 1798. Member of Georgia state senate, 1829-30; candidate for U.S. Representative from Georgia, 1832, 1834; colonel in the Texas Army during the Texas War of Independence; Texas Republic Secretary of War, 1836; Vice President of the Texas Republic, 1836-38; President of the Texas Republic, 1838-41; colonel in the U.S. Army during the Mexican War; member of Texas state legislature, 1847; U.S. Minister to Costa Rica, 1858-59; Nicaragua, 1858-59. Member, Freemasons. Died of a heart attack, near Richmond, Fort Bend County, Tex., December 19, 1859 (age 61 years, 125 days). Interment at Morton Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of John A. Lamar (1769-1833) and Rebecca (Kelly) Lamar (1774-1839); brother of Lucius Quintus Cincinnatus Lamar (1797-1834) and Loretta Rebecca Lamar (1818-1905; who married Absalom Harris Chappell); uncle of Lucius Quintus Cincinnatus Lamar (1825-1893); third cousin once removed of William McKendree Robbins (1828-1905); third cousin twice removed of Gaston Ahi Robbins.
      Political family: Lamar family of Georgia.
      Lamar County, Tex. is named for him.
      Lamar University, in Beaumont, Texas, is named for him.
      Politician named for him: Mirabeau Lamar Towns
      See also U.S. State Dept career summary
      John Matthew Moore (1862-1940) — also known as John M. Moore — of Richmond, Fort Bend County, Tex. Born near Richmond, Fort Bend County, Tex., November 18, 1862. Democrat. Member of Texas state house of representatives, 1896; U.S. Representative from Texas 8th District, 1905-13; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Texas, 1916. Died February 3, 1940 (age 77 years, 77 days). Interment at Morton Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      Walter Moses Burton (c.1829-1913) — also known as Walter M. Burton — of Fort Bend County, Tex. Born in slavery in North Carolina, about 1829. Fort Bend County Sheriff, 1869-73; member of Texas state senate, 1874-75, 1876-82. African ancestry. Died in 1913 (age about 84 years). Interment at Morton Cemetery.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/FB-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]