The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ward County
North Dakota

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Ward County

Index to Locations

  • Burlington Old Settlers Park
  • Kenmare Lakeview Cemetery
  • Kenmare St. Agnes Catholic Cemetery
  • Minot Rosehill Cemetery
  • Minot Sunset Memorial Gardens

    Old Settlers Park
    Burlington, Ward County, North Dakota
    Politicians buried here:
      Joseph L. Colton (1840-1896) — of Ward County, N.Dak. Born March 24, 1840. Served in the Union Army during the Civil War; delegate to North Dakota state constitutional convention from Ward County, 1889. Died December 22, 1896 (age 56 years, 273 days). Interment at Old Settlers Park.

    Lakeview Cemetery
    Kenmare, Ward County, North Dakota
    Politicians buried here:
      John E. Fleckten (d. 1942) — of Niobe, Ward County, N.Dak. Member of North Dakota state senate 2nd District, 1929-. Died January 12, 1942. Interment at Lakeview Cemetery.

    St. Agnes Catholic Cemetery
    Kenmare, Ward County, North Dakota
    Politicians buried here:
      Michael Henry O'Hara (1854-1924) — also known as M. H. O'Hara — of Kenmare, Ward County, N.Dak. Born in Vermont, September 17, 1854. Democrat. Hotel owner; alternate delegate to Democratic National Convention from North Dakota, 1912. Died, in Kenmare Hospital, Kenmare, Ward County, N.Dak., October 18, 1924 (age 70 years, 31 days). Interment at St. Agnes Catholic Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married, November 25, 1878, to Mary Ann Quimby.

    Rosehill Cemetery
    Minot, Ward County, North Dakota
    Politicians buried here:
      Patrick Daniel Norton (1876-1953) — also known as Patrick D. Norton — of Hettinger, Adams County, N.Dak.; Mandan, Morton County, N.Dak.; Minot, Ward County, N.Dak. Born in Ishpeming, Marquette County, Mich., May 17, 1876. Republican. Farmer; lawyer; superintendent of schools; banker; Adams County State's Attorney, 1907-11; secretary of state of North Dakota, 1911-12; U.S. Representative from North Dakota 3rd District, 1913-19; delegate to Republican National Convention from North Dakota, 1928. Member, Phi Delta Theta; Elks; Foresters; Knights of Columbus. Died in Minot, Ward County, N.Dak., October 14, 1953 (age 77 years, 150 days). Interment at Rosehill Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Patrick Norton and Bridget (Dolan) Norton.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      Berta E. Baker (1876-1964) — also known as Berta E. Colcord — of Glenburn, Renville County, N.Dak.; Bismarck, Burleigh County, N.Dak. Born near Sterling, Whiteside County, Ill., November 26, 1876. Republican. School teacher; North Dakota state treasurer, 1929-32; North Dakota state auditor, 1933-56. Female. Methodist. Member, Zonta; Order of the Eastern Star. Died in Minot, Ward County, N.Dak., May, 1964 (age 87 years, 0 days). Interment at Rosehill Cemetery.
      Relatives: Daughter of William Henry Colcord and Fiana (Linerod) Colcord; married to Bert F. Baker (1867-1924).
      Bert F. Baker (1867-1924) — of Glenburn, Renville County, N.Dak. Born in 1867. Member of North Dakota state senate, 1921-23. Died in an automobile accident while campaigning for State Agriculture Commissioner, 1924 (age about 57 years). Interment at Rosehill Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married to Berta E. Baker (1876-1964).

    Sunset Memorial Gardens
    Minot, Ward County, North Dakota
    Politicians buried here:
    R. A. Nestos Ragnvald Anderson Nestos (1877-1942) — also known as R. A. Nestos — of Minot, Ward County, N.Dak. Born in Voss, Norway, April 12, 1877. Republican. Naturalized U.S. citizen; lawyer; member of North Dakota state house of representatives, 1911-12; Ward County State's Attorney, 1913-16; candidate in primary for U.S. Senator from North Dakota, 1916, 1928; Governor of North Dakota, 1921-25; defeated in primary, 1924; delegate to Republican National Convention from North Dakota, 1932. Lutheran. Norwegian ancestry. Member, Phi Delta Theta; Delta Sigma Rho; Rotary. Suffered a stroke, and died three days later, in a hospital at Minot, Ward County, N.Dak., July 15, 1942 (age 65 years, 94 days). Interment at Sunset Memorial Gardens.
      Relatives: Son of Andres R. Nestos and Herborg (Saue) Nestos.
      See also National Governors Association biography — NNDB dossier — Find-A-Grave memorial
      Image source: Library of Congress

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ND/WA-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]