The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ward County
North Dakota

Ward County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Ward County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Ward County: [none currently in database]

Ward County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: M. H. O'Hara
   1916, St. Louis: Halvor L. Halvorson
   1920, San Francisco: G. S. Wooledge
   1924, New York: C. J. Fisk
   1928, Houston: John Ehr
   1932, Chicago: Gertrude Dwire — George T. Murray
   1940, Chicago: Chet M. Foresman — John J. Sprafka
   1944, Chicago: Mrs. R. J. Coughlin — Gertrude Dwire — John C. Eaton — Halvor L. Halvorson — W. J. Lowe
   1948, Philadelphia: Mrs. John Eaton — Halvor L. Halvorson
   1952, Chicago: Ray Vendsel
   1960, Los Angeles: Jess Joiner — Ray Vendsel
   1980, New York: Kari Conrad — Susan Gefroh — B. Jayapathy — Paul Mehta — Ed Smith
   2004, Boston: Deborah Johnson — Jim Maxson
   2008, Denver: Jon Erickson — Jim Maxson — Jennie Pinkerton
Republican National Conventions:
   1908, Chicago: Victor Rose — Paul Ware
   1920, Chicago: Olaf Lokensgard
   1928, Kansas City: Louisa J. Goss — Patrick D. Norton
   1932, Chicago: R. A. Nestos — A. F. Thompson
   1936, Cleveland: Bert Anderson
   1940, Philadelphia: Casper D. Aaker
   1944, Chicago: Alfred Spoklie
   1948, Philadelphia: O. B. Herigstad
   1952, Chicago: William Smart — Walter Troxel
   1956, San Francisco: Ethel H. Cooley — Martin Stenehjem
   1960, Chicago: Ethel H. Cooley
   1972, Miami Beach: Ralph Christensen — Marge Kermott — George Officer
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ND/WA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]