The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
North Dakota: Governors

Governors of North Dakota, 1889-2019 (May be incomplete!)
John Miller 1889-91 Andrew H. Burke 1891-93 Eli C. D. Shortridge 1893-95 Roger Allin 1895-97 Frank A. Briggs 1897-98 Joseph M. Devine 1898-99 Frederick B. Fancher 1899-1901 Frank White 1901-05 E. Y. Sarles 1905-07 John Burke 1907-13 Louis B. Hanna 1913-17 Lynn J. Frazier 1917-21 R. A. Nestos 1921-25 Arthur G. Sorlie 1925-28 Walter J. Maddock 1928-29 George F. Shafer 1929-32 William Langer 1932-34 Ole H. Olson 1934-35 Thomas Hilliard Moodie 1935 Walter Welford 1935-37 William Langer 1937-39 John Moses 1939-45 Fred G. Aandahl 1945-51 Norman Brunsdale 1951-57 John E. Davis 1957-61 William L. Guy 1961-73 Arthur A. Link 1973-81 Allen Ingvar Olson 1981-85 George A. Sinner 1985-93 Edward T. Schafer 1993- John Hoeven 2004 Jack Dalrymple 2010-16 Doug Burgum 2016-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1898 Aug 9: Frank A. Briggs, died in office.
  • 1920: William Langer (Rep), defeated.
  • 1921 Oct 28: R. A. Nestos (Rep), elected.
  • 1924: R. A. Nestos (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Arthur G. Sorlie (Rep), elected; Halvor L. Halvorson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1928 Aug 28: Arthur G. Sorlie, died in office.
  • 1928 Nov 6: George F. Shafer, elected.
  • 1934 Jul 17: William Langer, removed.
  • 1946: Quentin N. Burdick, defeated.
  • 1960: Herschel Lashkowitz (Ind), defeated.
  • 1962: Mark Andrews (Rep), defeated.
  • 1980: Arthur A. Link (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ND/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]