The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. Politicians who were born in Norway

  Norway (no city given):
  Norway, year not specified: Nelson E. Nelson — H. C. Nelson — C. T. Baarnaas — Thorvald H. Froslee — Anton R. Erickson — Theodore E. Jansen
  Norway, 1800-1849: Lars Westergaard, 1829 — Nelson E. Nelson — Hans Christopherson, 1830 — Hans Gunderson, 1832 — P. N. Langemo, 1832 — Knud Henry Lund, 1832 — Halle Steensland, 1832 — Andrew Nelson, 1837 — Arthur A. Flom, 1838 — Ole Oleson, 1839 — H. C. Nelson — W. D. Gandrup, 1840 — Martin N. Trygstad, 1843 — C. T. Baarnaas — Henry Christopherson, 1843 — Eric Sevatson, 1844 — Kittel Halvorson, 1846 — E. E. Distad, c.1846 — Lars O. Thorpe, 1847 — Didrik C. Eitzen, 1847 — Andrew B. Anderson, 1848 — Nils P. Haugen, 1849 — Jacob F. Jacobson, 1849
  Norway, 1850-1899: John O. Aaseth, 1850 — Nicolay A. Grevstad, 1851 — Anton Borgen, 1851 — J. A. Arneson, 1851 — Robert S. S. Bergh, 1852 — Albert N. Apland, 1852 — Thomas Tollefson, 1852 — Lars M. Benson, 1853 — A. C. Burnstad, 1853 — Amund O. Ringsrud, 1854 — John A. Egge, 1855 — Thorvald H. Froslee — Carl A. Grinde, 1857 — Thomas T. Ofsthun, 1858 — Oluf Gjerset, 1858 — Henry Steen, 1858 — Alex E. Zelius, 1859 — Engebreth H. Hobe, 1860 — John M. Larson, 1862 — Oscar Klöcker, c.1863 — E. E. Lobeck, 1864 — Lars O. Teigen, 1864 — Fred F. Norwood, 1864 — Richard O. Richards, 1866 — Ole E. Benson, 1866 — G. Bie Ravndal, 1866 — Tore Bredvik, 1867 — F. T. Gronvold, c.1869 — Ole O. Sageng, 1871 — Anton R. Erickson — Lewis Benson, 1873 — Staale Hendrickson, 1875 — A. M. Peterson, 1877 — Theodore E. Jansen — John Moses, 1885 — Bryn Ostby, 1888 — B. J. Dahl, c.1899
  Aal, Buskerud: Knut H. Helling, 1839
  Arendal: Sigurd Anderson, 1904
  Bergen: Gjert Lootz, 1837 — J. N. Wallem, 1843 — Andrew J. Rommeriam, 1851 — Thorvald K. Beyer, 1858
  Near Bergen: Andrew E. Lee, 1847
  Bremanger: Edward Indrehus, 1873
  Christiania (now Oslo): Otto H. Boyesen, 1857 — Fredrik Herman Gade, 1871 — Leonard H. Nord, 1873 — Haakon E. Dahr, Jr., 1878 — Hilmar Rasch Nielsen, 1883
  Christiansand (now Kristiansand): Börre Rosenkilde, 1869
  Döna: Julius J. Olson, 1875
  Drangedal, Telemark: Andrew Gulickson, 1856
  Eardahl: Atley Peterson, 1847
  Egersund: Jacob Thorkelson, 1876
  Elverum: Helge N. Tangen, 1882
  Fredrikstad: Charles Anderson, 1875
  Grue: Arne P. Haugen, 1845
  Guldbrandsdalen: S. D. Peterson, c.1841
  Hallingdal: M. T. Lillehaugen, 1881
  Hensedal: A. K. Finseth, 1836
  Hol, Hallingdal: Swen Swenson, 1836
  Kongsberg: Hagbarth Sahlgaard, 1844
  Kragero: Knud Wefald, 1869
  Kristiansand: Anthon Anderson, 1851 — M. Alfred Michaelson, 1878
  Lierbyen: Hans Christian Heg, 1829
  Lom: A. O. Arneson, 1856
  Lyngdal: Theodore Abrahamson, 1900
  Mandal: Olaf E. Olsen, 1896
  Molda: Andrew Nerland, 1870
  Nes, Hallingdal: Teman Gilbertson, 1837
  Nes, Hedmark: Andrew Slotten, 1840
  Oslo: Burger M. Engebretson, 1896
  Ringebu: Anna Brostuen, 1895
  Near Ringebu: John K. Brostuen, 1884
  Ringsaker: O. C. Berg, 1849
  Rollag, Telemark: Stephen N. Lee, 1860
  Sigdal, Buskerud: Ole A. Pikop, 1866
  Skein: Harold Knutson, 1880
  Sogne: James O. Davidson, 1854
  Sondre Aurdal, Valdres: Haldor Erickson Boen, 1851
  Stavanger: Carl Birkeland, 1886 — Thomas Waaland, 1911
  Telemark: Hans Hanson, Jr., 1820
  Tromso: Einar Hoidale, 1870
  Trondheim: Hans M. Aune, 1861
  Ullensvang: Lars J. Aga, 1854
  Urskog: Gunnar Hans Nordbye, 1888
  Vaagan: Henry Bordewich, 1844
  Valdres: Knute Knutson, c.1867
  Vangs Prestegjaeld, Hedemarken: Ole C. Beck, 1856
  Voss: Aad J. Vinje, 1857 — R. A. Nestos, 1877
  Vosse Elven: Knute Nelson, 1843
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/NO-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]