The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Los Angeles County

Los Angeles County Places & Things Named for Politicians

   The Glenn Anderson Freeway Transitway (I-105), in Los Angeles County, is named for Glenn M. Anderson.
   Mount Wilson, in the San Gabriel mountains, Los Angeles County, is named for Benjamin D. Wilson.
   The James C. Corman Federal Building, in Van Nuys, Los Angeles, is named for James C. Corman.
   The Gerald Desmond Bridge (built 1965-68; replacement under construction 2019), which takes Ocean Boulevard over the Back Channel, in Long Beach, is named for Gerald Desmond.
   Burton Chace Park, in Marina del Rey, is named for Burton W. Chace.
   The city of Whittier is named for John Greenleaf Whittier.
   The community of Flintridge (now part of La Canada Flintridge) was named for Frank P. Flint.
   The Vincent Thomas Bridge (opened 1963), a suspension bridge over the harbor from San Pedro to Terminal Island, in Los Angeles, is named for Vincent Thomas.
   The Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration, in Los Angeles, is named for Kenneth Hahn.
   The Kenneth Hahn State Recreation Area, in Los Angeles, is named for Kenneth Hahn.
   The Bret Harte Neighborhood Library, in Long Beach, is named for Bret Harte.
   Herbert Hoover High School, in Glendale, is named for Herbert Hoover.
   Teresa Hughes Elementary School, in Cudahy, is named for Teresa P. Hughes.
   Knight High School in Palmdale is named for William J. Knight.
   The Patricia Nixon Elementary School (opened 1973; now Nixon Academy), in Cerritos, is named for Pat Nixon.
   Pat Nixon Park (established 1969), in Cerritos, is named for Pat Nixon.
   Parcher Plaza, in the Glendale Civic Center, Glendale, is named for Carroll W. Parcher.
   The Pauley Pavilion indoor arena, at the University of California Angeles, Los Angeles, is named for Edwin W. Pauley.
   Stoneman Elementary School (now closed), in San Marino, was named for George Stoneman.
   The city of Downey is named for John G. Downey.
   Whittier College, in Whittier, is named for John Greenleaf Whittier.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/LA-names.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]