The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Farm Bureau
Politician members in Wisconsin

  John Matthew Blaska (1885-1957) — also known as John M. Blaska — of Marshall, Dane County, Wis. Born in Medina town, Dane County, Wis., May 14, 1885. Democrat. Farmer; member of Wisconsin state assembly from Dane County 2nd District, 1949-50. Member, Farm Bureau. Died in Madison, Dane County, Wis., May 27, 1957 (age 72 years, 13 days). Interment at Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary Cemetery, Sun Prairie, Wis.
  Relatives: Son of John Peregrin Blaska and Anna Ludmilla (Fiedler) Blaska; married, May 11, 1909, to Rose Frances Schuster; father of Jerome L. Blaska and John James Blaska.
  Political family: Blaska family of Sun Prairie, Wisconsin.
  See also Find-A-Grave memorial
Edward H. Cunningham Edward H. Cunningham (1869-1930) — of Newell, Buena Vista County, Iowa. Born in Burlington, Racine County, Wis., December 14, 1869. Republican. Farmer; member of Iowa state house of representatives, 1909-14; Speaker of the Iowa State House of Representatives, 1913-14; alternate delegate to Republican National Convention from Iowa, 1916; member, Federal Reserve Board, 1923-30. Member, Farm Bureau. Died, following a heart attack, in Washington, D.C., November 28, 1930 (age 60 years, 349 days). Interment at Newell Cemetery, Newell, Iowa.
  Relatives: Son of Patrick Henry Cunningham and Hannah (Nagel) Cunningham; married to Ida F. Scovel.
  See also Find-A-Grave memorial — Federal Reserve History
  Image source: Federal Reserve History
  Hugh A. Harper (b. 1885) — of Lancaster, Grant County, Wis. Born in Lancaster, Grant County, Wis., December 24, 1885. Farmer; member of Wisconsin state assembly, 1931-36, 1945-52, 1957-64 (Grant County 2nd District 1931-36, 1945-52, Grant County 1957-64); defeated (Independent), 1952; Progressive candidate for Wisconsin state senate 16th District, 1940. Member, Farm Bureau. Burial location unknown.
  Richard Kreul (b. 1924) — of Fennimore, Grant County, Wis. Born in Mt. Ida town, Grant County, Wis., April 16, 1924. Republican. Farmer; real estate broker; member of Wisconsin state senate 17th District, 1979-91. Member, Freemasons; Farm Bureau; Kiwanis; Elks. Presumed deceased. Burial location unknown.
  Alan J. Lasee (b. 1937) — of Wisconsin. Born in Rockland town, Brown County, Wis., July 31, 1937. Republican. Dairy farmer; member of Wisconsin state assembly 3rd District; defeated, 1972; elected 1974; member of Wisconsin state senate 1st District; elected 1978. Member, Farm Bureau. Still living as of 1978.
  Patrick Joseph Lucey (b. 1918) — also known as Patrick J. Lucey — of Ferryville, Crawford County, Wis.; Madison, Dane County, Wis. Born in La Crosse, La Crosse County, Wis., March 21, 1918. Served in the U.S. Army during World War II; grocer; business manager; member of Wisconsin state assembly from Crawford County, 1949-50; Democratic candidate for U.S. Representative from Wisconsin 3rd District, 1950; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Wisconsin, 1952 (alternate), 1960 (alternate), 1968, 1972; Wisconsin Democratic state chair, 1957-63; Lieutenant Governor of Wisconsin, 1965-67; Governor of Wisconsin, 1971-77; defeated (Democratic), 1966; U.S. Ambassador to Mexico, 1977-79; Independent candidate for Vice President of the United States, 1980. Member, Veterans of Foreign Wars; Farm Bureau. Still living as of 2014.
  Relatives: Son of Gregory C. Lucey and Ella (McNamara) Lucey; married, November 14, 1951, to Jean Vlasis.
  See also National Governors Association biography — U.S. State Dept career summary — NNDB dossier
  William R. Merriam (b. 1894) — of Rock County, Wis. Born in Delavan, Walworth County, Wis., September 28, 1894. Republican. Served in the U.S. Army during World War I; farmer; member of Wisconsin state assembly from Rock County 1st District; elected 1956, 1958. Member, Farm Bureau; Rotary. Burial location unknown.
  Charles A. Peterson (b. 1884) — of Rosendale, Fond du Lac County, Wis. Born in Harris, Chisago County, Minn., April 12, 1884. Republican. Farmer; school teacher; member of Wisconsin state assembly from Fond du Lac County 2nd District; elected 1948, 1950; elected unopposed 1952. Member, Farm Bureau. Burial location unknown.
  Cletus J. Vanderperren (b. 1912) — of Green Bay, Brown County, Wis. Born in Pittsfield town, Brown County, Wis., March 4, 1912. Democrat. Farmer; auto supply dealer; member of Wisconsin state assembly from Brown County 3rd District, 1959-91; defeated, 1956. Member, Farm Bureau. Burial location unknown.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WI/farm-bureau.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]