The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Wisconsin Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Wisconsin Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Wisconsin Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Brown - Buffalo - Fond du Lac - La Crosse - Rock - Waukesha - Wood

Democratic state chairs, 1890-1977 (Incomplete!)

Edward C. Wall as of 1890 John T. Hume as of 1923 John M. Callahan as of 1925-27 O. A. La Budde as of 1931 James A. Corcoran as of 1936-37 William D. Carroll as of 1939 Thomas R. King as of 1943-44 Robert E. Tehan as of 1945 Jerome F. Fox as of 1949 James E. Doyle 1951-53 Leland S. McParland as of 1954-56 Philleo Nash 1955-57 Patrick J. Lucey as of 1957-63 Herbert H. Kohl as of 1975-77

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1936-2008 (Incomplete!)

Laura Schwalbach as of 1936-43 Lena Taylor as of 2008 Joe Wineke as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

George H. Paul as of 1876 William F. Vilas as of 1880 John L. Mitchell as of 1888 Joseph E. Davies as of 1912 Gertrude Bowler as of 1920 Joseph Martin as of 1920-21 Charles E. Broughton 1932-41 Mrs. George N. Givan as of 1936-40 Thomas R. King as of 1943-44 Helen F. Marty as of 1943-44 Robert E. Tehan as of 1949 Edna Bowen as of 1954 Carl W. Thompson as of 1954 Stan Gruszynski as of 2004-08 Linda Honold as of 2004 Ken Opin as of 2004 Mary Rasmussen as of 2004 Tim Sullivan as of 2004-08 Paula Zellner as of 2004-08 Awais Khaleel as of 2008 Jason Rae as of 2008 Melissa Schroeder as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1936-54 (Incomplete!)

John J. Slocum 1936-39 George F. Ogle as of 1937 Jay B. Glerum as of 1943-44 John D. Kehoe as of 1954

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1920-58 (Incomplete!)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/WI.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]