The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Waukesha County

Waukesha County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Waukesha County (incomplete!): Edward C. Wicklein, 1970

Republican Party chairs in Waukesha County (incomplete!): Alfred R. Ludvigsen, 1930-34 — Don L. Taylor, as of 2007

Waukesha County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Alexander F. Pratt
   1876, St. Louis: George H. Daubner
   1912, Baltimore: Edward Walsh
   1916, St. Louis: Stephen F. Weber
   1924, New York: George L. Dwinnell — Stephen F. Weber
   1928, Houston: George L. Dwinnell
   1932, Chicago: Margaret Fragstein
   1936, Philadelphia: George L. Dwinnell — Margaret Fragstein
   1940, Chicago: Thomas R. King
   1944, Chicago: Thomas R. King — John W. Nash
   1948, Philadelphia: John W. Nash
   1952, Chicago: Alfred Meier — Lester Washburn
   1976, New York: Richard A. Congdon — Betty J. Cooper — G. Sam Davis — Judith A. Goetzke — Joanna H. Rody — Margaret Watkins — Roy W. Watkins
   1996, Chicago: Joseph Kreuser — George Pantelis — Cynthea Rollo
   2004, Boston: Robert Lehmann — Carol Lers — Larry Nelson — Dian Palmer — Iva Richards
   2008, Denver: Mark Boswell — Shah Haqqi — Mushir Hassan — Larry Nelson
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: W. D. Bacon
   1900, Philadelphia: Ed Foster — Andrew J. Frame
   1908, Chicago: Henry Lockney
   1912, Chicago: Henry Lockney
   1916, Chicago: B. M. Caples
   1920, Chicago: Henry Lockney — Mrs. Theodore W. Youmans
   1924, Cleveland: J. B. Christoph
   1932, Chicago: Howard T. Greene
   1936, Cleveland: Alvin G. Brendennwell — Lila O. Burton
   1944, Chicago: Gavin W. McKerrow — Carl Taylor
   1948, Philadelphia: H. N. Biwer — Roy F. Farrand
   1952, Chicago: Austin J. Baird — Frances Smelter — Carl Taylor — Lloyd Tegge
   1956, San Francisco: Roseann Biwer — Glenn R. Davis
   1960, Chicago: Glenn R. Davis — Mrs. C. E. Imhoff — Paul J. Rogan
   1964, San Francisco: Don L. Taylor — Morris J. Vollmer
   1972, Miami Beach: Ody J. Fish — Sam M. Hay
   2004, New York: Edythe Cooper — James Klauser — F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. — Don L. Taylor
   2008, St. Paul: Candee Arndt — Mark Block — Virginia Marschman — Tim Michels — Robin Moore — Mark W. Neumann
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WI/WK-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]