The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Rock County

Rock County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Rock County (incomplete!): Warner E. Mills, Jr., as of 1964

Republican Party chairs in Rock County: [none currently in database]

Rock County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: William A. Barstow
   1864, Chicago: John Winans
   1912, Baltimore: J. J. Cunningham — Matthew Lathers
   1916, St. Louis: Charles Oliver
   1936, Philadelphia: Gladys Cunningham
   1944, Chicago: Mrs. Frank Burns
   1952, Chicago: E. P. Agnew
   1976, New York: Timothy F. Cullen — Berneva Hebb
   1996, Chicago: Thomas Brien — Karen Kleinert — Judy Robson — Betty Villalobos — Lawrence J. Wiedenfeld
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Louis P. Harvey
   1860, Chicago: J. R. Bennett
   1896, St. Louis: Charles Ingersoll
   1908, Chicago: Perry C. Wilder
   1912, Chicago: Victor P. Richardson
   1916, Chicago: George B. Ingersoll
   1920, Chicago: Mrs. A. J. Harris — John M. Whitehead
   1924, Cleveland: Mrs. Victor Richardson
   1928, Kansas City: Stephen Bolles
   1932, Chicago: W. H. Dougherty — Ira Inman
   1944, Chicago: Grant A. Ritter
   1948, Philadelphia: Richard Bort — John H. Matheson
   1952, Chicago: John F. Mills — Stephen P. J. Wood
   1956, San Francisco: Lee D. Bort
   1960, Chicago: David J. Blanchard — John E. Hough
   1964, San Francisco: Daniel S. Parker
   1972, Miami Beach: John E. Hough — George Parker — Nancy Parker
   2004, New York: Pierre Charles
   2008, St. Paul: Mark Cullen — Jan Deters — Steve King
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WI/RO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]