The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Iowa: House Speakers

Speakers of the Iowa State House of Representatives, 1846-1999 (May be incomplete!)
Jesse B. Browne 1846-48 Smiley H. Bonham 1848-49 George Temple 1850-51 James Grant 1852-53 Reuben Noble 1854-56 Samuel McFarland 1856-57 Stephen B. Shelledy 1858-59 John Edwards 1859-61 Rush Clark 1862-63 Jacob Butler 1864-65 Ed Wright 1866-67 John Russell 1868-69 Aylett R. Cotton 1870-71 James Wilson 1872-73 John H. Gear 1874-77 John Y. Stone 1878-79 Lore Alford 1880-81 George R. Struble 1882-83 William P. Wolf 1884-85 Albert Head 1886-87 William H. Redman 1888-89 John T. Hamilton 1890-91 William O. Mitchell 1892-93 Henry Stone 1894-95 Howard W. Byers 1896-97 James H. Funk 1898-99 Daniel H. Bowen 1900-01 Willard L. Eaton 1902-03 George W. Clarke 1904-06 Nathan E. Kendall 1907-08 Guy A. Feely 1909-10 Paul E. Stillman 1911-12 Edward H. Cunningham 1913-14 William I. Atkinson 1915-16 Milton B. Pitt 1917-18 Arch W. McFarlane 1919-22 Joseph H. Anderson 1923-24 W. C. Edson 1925-26 L. V. Carter 1927-28 Howard A. Mathews 1928 J. H. Johnson 1929-30 Francis Johnson 1931-32 George E. Miller 1933-34 John H. Mitchell 1935-36 La Mar Foster 1937-38 John R. Irwin 1939-40 Robert Donald Blue 1941-42 Henry W. Burma 1943-44 Harold Felton 1945-46 Gus T. Kuester 1947-50 William S. Lynes 1951-54 Arthur C. Hanson 1955-56 W. L. Moody 1957-58 Vern Lisle 1959-60 Henry C. Nelson 1961-62 Robert W. Naden 1963-64 Vincent B. Steffen 1965-66 Maurice E. Baringer 1967-68 William H. Harbor 1969-72 Andrew Varley 1973-74 Dale M. Cochran 1975-77 Floyd H. Millen 1978-79 William H. Harbor 1980 Delwyn Stromer 1981-82 Donald Avenson 1983 Ron J. Corbett 1995-99

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/ofc/spkr.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]