The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Wisconsin: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Wisconsin, 1848-2001 (May be incomplete!)
John E. Holmes 1848-50 Samuel W. Beall 1850-52 Timothy Burns 1852-54 James T. Lewis 1854-56 Arthur MacArthur 1856-58 Erasmus D. Campbell 1858-60 Butler G. Noble 1860-62 Edward P. Salomon 1862-64 Wyman Spooner 1864-70 Thaddeus C. Pound 1870-72 Milton H. Pettit 1872-73 Charles D. Parker 1874-78 James M. Bingham 1878-82 Samuel S. Fifield 1882-87 George W. Ryland 1887-91 Charles Jonas 1891-95 Emil Baensch 1895-99 Jesse Stone 1899-1903 James O. Davidson 1903-07 William D. Connor 1907-09 John Strange 1909-11 Thomas Morris 1911-15 Edward F. Dithmar 1915-21 George F. Comings 1921-25 Henry A. Huber 1925-33 Thomas J. O'Malley 1933-36 Henry Gunderson 1937 Herman L. Ekern 1938-39 Walter S. Goodland 1939-45 Oscar Rennebohm 1945-49 George M. Smith 1949-55 Warren P. Knowles 1955-59 Philleo Nash 1959-61 Warren P. Knowles 1961-63 Jack B. Olson 1963-65 Patrick J. Lucey 1965-67 Jack B. Olson 1967-71 Martin J. Schreiber 1971-79 Russell A. Olson 1979-83 James T. Flynn 1983-87 Scott McCallum 1987-2001

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1857: Carl Schurz, defeated.
  • 1873 Mar 23: Milton H. Pettit, died in office.
  • 1902: James O. Davidson (Rep), elected.
  • 1906: Michael F. Blenski (Dem), defeated.
  • 1908: Henry A. Moehlenpah (Dem), defeated.
  • 1916 Sep 5: John Cudahy (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1916 Sep 5: Edward F. Dithmar (Rep), nominated; Marshall Cousins (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1916 Sep 5: Charles H. Mott (Prohibition), nominated unopposed.
  • 1916 Sep 5: Ellis B. Harris (Socialist), nominated unopposed.
  • 1916 Nov 7: Edward F. Dithmar (Rep), elected; John Cudahy (Dem), defeated; Ellis B. Harris (Socialist), defeated; Charles H. Mott (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: George F. Comings (Rep), elected; Joseph R. Pfeiffner (Independent Democratic), defeated; Martin Georgensen (Socialist), defeated; Ella Tenney Sanford (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Henry A. Huber (Rep), elected; Karl Mathie (Dem), defeated; Peter Cilles (Socialist), defeated; Maria I. A. Nelsen (Prohibition), defeated; John E. Ferris (Independent Republican), defeated; Steve Fisher (Socialist Labor), defeated; Charles Kuzdas (Ind Workers), defeated.
  • 1936 May 27: Thomas J. O'Malley, died in office.
  • 1937 Oct 16: Henry Gunderson, resigned.
  • 1938: Walter S. Goodland, elected.
  • 1938 May 16: Herman L. Ekern, appointed.
  • 1944: Oscar Rennebohm (Rep), elected.
  • 1946: Oscar Rennebohm (Rep), elected.
  • 1948 Nov 2: George M. Smith (Rep), elected.
  • 1950 Nov 7: George M. Smith (Rep), elected.
  • 1952 Nov 4: George M. Smith (Rep), elected.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Warren P. Knowles (Rep), elected; William A. Schmidt (Dem), defeated.
  • 1978: Robert E. Nordlander (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WI/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]