The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Gonzales County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Gonzales County

Index to Locations

  • Coe Valley Cemetery
  • Belmont Belmont Cemetery
  • Gonzales Askey Cemetery
  • Gonzales Masonic Cemetery
  • Gonzales Old Cemetery

    Coe Valley Cemetery
    Gonzales County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Philip Hattox Coe (1800-1852) — also known as Philip Coe; Philip Alexander Hattox — Born in Georgia, January 10, 1800. Delegate to Texas Consultation of 1835 from District of Washington, 1835; served in the Texas Army during the Texas War of Independence. Died in Texas, December 14, 1852 (age 52 years, 339 days). Interment at Coe Valley Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Moses Hattox and Rachel (Coe) Hattox.
      Epitaph: "Gone but not forgotten."

    Belmont Cemetery
    Belmont, Gonzales County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Martin Beaty (1784-1856) — of Kentucky. Born October 8, 1784. Whig. Member of Kentucky state senate, 1824-28; candidate for Presidential Elector for Kentucky; U.S. Representative from Kentucky 4th District, 1833-35; defeated, 1828, 1830, 1834; member of Kentucky state house of representatives, 1848. In Kentucky in 1818, he drilled the world's first oil well. Slaveowner. Died in Belmont, Gonzales County, Tex., June 17, 1856 (age 71 years, 253 days). Interment at Belmont Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page — Find-A-Grave memorial

    Askey Cemetery
    Gonzales, Gonzales County, Texas
    Politicians formerly buried here:
      James Charles Wilson (1818-1860) — of Texas. Born in Yorkshire, England, August 21, 1818. Served in the Texas Army during the Texas War of Independence; member of Texas state house of representatives, 1849-50; member of Texas state senate, 1851-53. Methodist. Volunteer on the Somervell Expedition in 1842; captured at Mier, Mexico, and held at Perote Prison until his escape in 1843; famed orator in support of Texas annexation to the U.S. and, later, secession to join the Confederacy. Died of tuberculosis, at Gonzales, Gonzales County, Tex., February 7, 1860 (age 41 years, 170 days). Original interment at Askey Cemetery; reinterment in 1936 at Texas State Cemetery, Austin, Tex.
      Wilson County, Tex. is named for him.

    Masonic Cemetery
    Gonzales, Gonzales County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      George Farmer Burgess (1861-1919) — also known as George F. Burgess — of Gonzales, Gonzales County, Tex. Born in Wharton County, Tex., September 21, 1861. Democrat. Lawyer; Gonzales County Attorney, 1886-89; candidate for Presidential Elector for Texas; U.S. Representative from Texas, 1901-17 (10th District 1901-03, 9th District 1903-17); candidate for U.S. Senator from Texas, 1916. Died in Gonzales, Gonzales County, Tex., December 31, 1919 (age 58 years, 101 days). Interment at Masonic Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Dr. C. H. A. Burgess; married, December 28, 1888, to Marie Louise Sims.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      James Francis Miller (1830-1902) — of Texas. Born in South Carolina, 1830. Democrat. U.S. Representative from Texas 8th District, 1883-87. Died in 1902 (age about 72 years). Interment at Masonic Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Old Cemetery
    Gonzales, Gonzales County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      George Washington Barnett (1793-1848) — also known as G. W. Barnett — of Texas. Born in South Carolina, December 12, 1793. Served in the Texas Army during the Texas War of Independence; delegate to Texas Republic Republic constitutional convention from District of Washington, 1836; signer, Texas Declaration of Independence, 1836; member of Texas Republic Senate from District of Washington, 1837-43. Presbyterian. Killed by Lipan-Apache Indians while hunting deer near Gonzales, Gonzales County, Tex., October 8, 1848 (age 54 years, 301 days). Interment at Old Cemetery.
      Presumably named for: George Washington

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/GZ-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]