The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Politicians in Railroading in Louisiana

  Taliaferro Alexander (1846-1924) — of Shreveport, Caddo Parish, La. Born in Catahoula Parish, La., March 17, 1846. Democrat. Lawyer; attorney for railroads; delegate to Louisiana state constitutional convention, 1898. Episcopalian. Scotch-Irish ancestry. Died in Shreveport, Caddo Parish, La., January 3, 1924 (age 77 years, 292 days). Interment at Oakland Cemetery, Shreveport, La.
  Relatives: Son of John Steele Alexander and Susan (Taliaferro) Alexander; married, October 31, 1876, to Laura Lister; grandson of James T. Taliaferro.
  See also Find-A-Grave memorial
  Edward Austin Burke (1839-1928) — also known as Edward A. Burke; Edward A. Burk — of Galveston, Galveston County, Tex.; New Orleans, Orleans Parish, La. Born in Louisville, Jefferson County, Ky., September 13, 1839. Democrat. Telegraph operator; railroad superintendent; major in the Confederate Army during the Civil War; importer and exporter; railway freight agent; newspaper editor; Louisiana state treasurer, 1878-88; engaged in a pistol duel with Henry J. Hearsey on January 25, 1880; neither man was injured; in 1882, he was wounded in a duel with C. Harrison Parker; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Louisiana, 1880 (member, Resolutions Committee), 1884; in 1889, his successor as state treasurer, William Henry Pipes, discovered discrepancies in state funds, and accused Burke of embezzlement; he was subsequently indicted by a grand jury; Burke, then in London, chose not to return to Louisiana, and instead fled to Honduras, and remained in Central America for the rest of his life. Irish ancestry. Died, in the Hotel Ritz, Tegucigalpa, Honduras, September 24, 1928 (age 89 years, 11 days). Interment somewhere in Yuscarán, Honduras.
  See also Find-A-Grave memorial
  Edward Hughes Randolph (b. 1858) — of Shreveport, Caddo Parish, La. Born in Bossier Parish, La., March 12, 1858. Democrat. Lawyer; director and general attorney, Louisiana Railway and Navigation Co.; director and attorney, Houston & Shreveport Railway; divisional counsel, Vicksburg, Shreveport & Pacific Railway; general counsel, Shreveport Traction Co.; member of Louisiana state house of representatives, 1884; member of Louisiana Democratic State Central Committee, 1895-96; U.S. Attorney for the Western District of Louisiana, 1910-13. Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Son of Edward G. Randolph and Mary E. (Thompson) Randolph; married, October 14, 1884, to Annie M. Jeffries; married, July 22, 1911, to Mary Rose Youree.
  Pearl Wight (1843-1920) — also known as Albert Pearl Wight — of New Orleans, Orleans Parish, La. Born in Penobscot, Hancock County, Maine, March 22, 1843. Republican. Ship chandler; wholesale grocer; receiver, Texas and Pacific Railway; Vice-Consul for Sweden & Norway in New Orleans, La., 1894-1903; delegate to Republican National Convention from Louisiana, 1908; member of Republican National Committee from Louisiana, 1908. Died in New Orleans, Orleans Parish, La., July 4, 1920 (age 77 years, 104 days). Entombed at St. Louis Cemetery No. 1, New Orleans, La.
  Relatives: Son of Edward Wight and Theodosia (Wescott) Wight; brother-in-law of Thomas J. Woodward; married, November 19, 1867, to Helen Lauretta Ellems.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/LA/railroading.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]