The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Orleans Parish

Honorary foreign consuls in New Orleans

   Argentina: John O. Bigelow (Consul 1885-1903) — Alfred LeBlanc (Consul 1903) — John O. Bigelow (Consul 1903-UZ ) — Alfred LeBlanc (Vice Consul 1906-25) — Antonio Ashby (Vice Consul as of 1931-35) — Antonio Ashby (Honorary Consul as of 1940-44)
   Austria: Henry L. Newell (Honorary Consul 1953-59)
   Austria-Hungary: Ernest Von Meysenbug (Consul 1880-94) — Ernest Von Meysenbug (Vice Consul 1895-96) — Franz Hindermann (Consul 1897-1903)
   Belgium: Anthony J. R. Landauer (Consul 1881-1902) — C. S. Schaefer (Consul 1903-14) — M. Ulser (Consul as of 1921) — H. Dabezies (Honorary Consul 1923-59)
   Bolivia: Alfredo Blanco (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Brazil: Charles Dittmann (Vice Consul 1898-1907) — Louis Emmanuel Dittmann (Commercial Agent 1901-07)
   Central America: Edouard Hernández (Vice Consul 1897-98) — Victor J. Botto (Consul 1897-98)
   Chile: James S. Zacharie (Consul 1898-99) — Fernando Dahmen (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Costa Rica: Lamar C. Quintero (Consul General 1891-97) — John Marshall Quintero (Vice Consul 1897-1926) — Lamar C. Quintero (Consul 1898-1902) — Lamar C. Quintero (Consul General 1907-21) — John Marshall Quintero (Honorary Consul General as of 1935) — Venancio Garcia Alvarado (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Cuba: J. Nelson Polhamus (Consul 1907)
   Czechoslovakia: Gordon Boswell (Consul as of 1935)
   Denmark: Hermann F. Klumpp (Consul 1877-92) — Oscar R. Lanng (Consul 1893-99) — Thyge Söegaard (Vice Consul 1896-1907) — Ingemann Olsen (Honorary Consul as of 1935-50)
   Dominican Republic: Jacintho Fernandes, Jr. (Honorary Consul as of 1921) — Alfredo Blanco (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Ecuador: Carlos V. Coello (Consul 1906-07)
   Estonia: N. O. Pedrick (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Germany: Hermann F. Klumpp (Consul 1894) — Ernest Von Meysenbug (Consul 1896-1903)
   Great Britain: William Percy Taylor Nurse (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Honduras: Edouard Hernández (Vice Consul 1885-96) — Edouard Hernández (Vice Consul 1899-1902) — Victor J. Botto (Consul 1899-1901) — Juan J. Fernandez (Consul General 1903-07)
   Ireland: James F. McKay III (Honorary Consul as of 2017)
   Japan: John W. Phillips (Honorary Consul 1897-1921)
   Latvia: August Edward Pradillo (Honorary Consul as of 1935-50)
   Liberia: L. H. Reynolds (Vice Consul 1898-1907) — J. A. Hardin (Honorary Consul as of 1950)
   Netherlands: Alois Terkuhle (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Nicaragua: Victor J. Botto (Consul 1895-96) — Edouard Hernández (Vice Consul 1899) — Victor J. Botto (Consul 1899)
   Norway: Walter Frederick Jahncke (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935) — Walter Frederick Jahncke (Honorary Consul as of 1947) — Harold Werner (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1950)
   Panama: Nathan Eisenmann (Honorary Vice Consul 1912-22) — Dario Felix Ballina (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Paraguay: August Edward Pradillo (Honorary Consul as of 1948)
   Portugal: Luiz da Costa Carvalho (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Russia: Edward Johns (Consul as of 1868) — Johann F. Schroder (Vice Consul as of 1868)
   Salvador: Felix Formento (Honorary Consul 1905-07) — Andrés Grombach (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1921)
   Spain: Delfin Vila (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1921)
   Sweden: George Plant (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Sweden & Norway: Pearl Wight (Vice Consul 1894-1902)
   Turkey: John M. Huger (Consul 1872-82) — Charles F. Buck, Jr. (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Uruguay: Gilbert H. Green (Vice Consul 1892-1907) — Henry L. Lange (Consul 1919-40) — Juan José Calandria (Honorary Consul as of 1948)
   Venezuela: Oton Grimmer (Honorary Consul 1902-04) — Juan Argote (Honorary Consul 1912-17)
   Yugoslavia: Basile Rusovic (Honorary Consul as of 1940)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/LA/OR-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]