The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Louisiana

U.S. District Attorneys for Louisiana, 1805-23 (may be incomplete!)
James Brown 1805-08 Philip Grymes 1808-10 Tully Robinson 1810-11 John R. Grymes 1811-14 Tully Robinson 1814 John Dick 1814-21 John W. Smith 1821-23

U.S. District Attorneys for Louisiana, 1823-1998 (may be incomplete!)
John W. Smith 1823-29 John Slidell 1829-33 Henry Carlton 1833-36 Philip Kissick Lawrence 1836-37 Thomas Slidell 1837-38 Benjamin F. Linton 1838-41 Balie Peyton 1841-45 Solomon W. Downs 1845-46 Thomas I. Durant 1846-50 Logan Hunton 1850-53 E. Warren Moise 1853-55 Thomas S. McCay 1855-56 Franklin H. Clack 1856-57 Thomas J. Semmes 1857-59 Henry C. Miller 1859-63 Rufus Waples 1863 James R. Beckwith 1870 Albert H. Leonard 1878-85 Charles Parlange 1885-89 William Grant 1889-92 Ferdinand B. Earhart 1892-96 J. Ward Gurley, Jr. 1896-1900 William W. Howe 1900-07 Rufus E. Foster 1907-09 Carlton R. Beattie 1909-13 Walter Guion 1913-17 Joseph W. Montgomery 1917-19 Henry Mooney 1919-21 Louis H. Burns 1921-25 Wayne G. Borah 1925-28 Edmond E. Talbot 1928-33 William H. Norman 1933 Rene A. Viosca 1933-34 Warren Doyle 1934-37 Rene A. Viosca 1941 Robert Winestein 1941-47 Herbert W. Christenberry 1942-47 J. Skelly Wright 1948-49 John M. McKay 1949-50 George R. Blue 1950-53 M. Hepburn Many 1953-57 Kathleen Ruddell 1957-61 Louis C. LaCour 1961-69 Gerald J. Gallinghouse 1969-78 John P. Volz 1978-91 Harry A. Rosenberg 1991-93 Robert J. Boitmann 1993 Eddie J. Jordan, Jr. 1994-98

U.S. District Attorneys for Louisiana, 1972-98 (may be incomplete!)
Douglas M. Gonzales 1972-76 C. Joseph Cheney, Jr. 1976-77 Donald L. Beckner 1977-81 Stanford O. Bardwell, Jr. 1981-86 P. Raymond Lamonica 1986-94 L. J. Hymel 1994-98

U.S. District Attorneys for Louisiana, 1823-1998 (may be incomplete!)
John Brownson 1823-30 Benjamin F. Linton 1830-41 Henderson Taylor 1841-42 Caleb L. Swayze 1842-49 Henry Boyce 1849 Lawrence P. Crain 1850-53 Joseph H. Kilpatrick 1853-54 Peter Alexander 1854-56 Claiborne C. Briscoe 1856 Floyd Walton 1856-60 Leon D. Marks 1860 James R. Beckwith 1870 H. B. Talliaferro 1881 Milton C. Elstner 1881-85 Montfort S. Jones 1885-89 Milton C. Elstner 1889-93 Charles W. Seals 1893-98 Milton C. Elstner 1898-1910 Edward Hughes Randolph 1910-13 George W. Jack 1913-17 Robert A. Hunter 1917 Joseph Moore 1917-21 Yardell Boatner 1921 Hugh C. Fisher 1921-22 Philip H. Mecom 1922-35 Ben F. Roberts 1935-37 Harvey G. Fields 1937-45 Malcolm E. Lafargue 1945-50 William J. Fleniken, Sr. 1950 Harvey L. Carey 1950 William J. Fleniken, Jr. 1950-52 Thomas F. Wilson 1953-62 Edward L. Shaheen 1962-69 Donald E. Walter 1969-77 Edward L. Shaheen 1977-79 Joseph R. Keene 1979-81 Joseph S. Cage, Jr. 1981-93 William J. Flanagan 1993 Michael D. Skinner 1993-98
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/LA/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]