The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
College and University President Politicians in Arkansas

  John Henry Clayborn (1882-1954) — also known as J. H. Clayborn — of Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark. Born in Arkadelphia, Clark County, Ark., December 2, 1882. Republican. Pastor; bishop; president, Sharter College, Little Rock, Ark.; offered prayer, Republican National Convention, 1952. African Methodist Episcopal. African ancestry. Died in Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark., June 17, 1954 (age 71 years, 197 days). Interment at Haven of Rest Cemetery, Little Rock, Ark.
  Relatives: Son of David Clayborn and Marthia Clayborn; married, December 21, 1902, to Lula Mitchell.
  See also Find-A-Grave memorial
  James Thomas Laney (b. 1927) — also known as James T. Laney — of Georgia. Born in Wilson, Mississippi County, Ark., December 24, 1927. Ordained minister; president, Emory University, 1977-93; U.S. Ambassador to South Korea, 1993-96. Methodist. Member, Council on Foreign Relations; Phi Beta Kappa; Omicron Delta Kappa. Still living as of 2014.
  Relatives: Son of Thomas Mann Laney and Mary (Hughey) Laney; married, December 20, 1949, to Berta Joan Radford.
  See also U.S. State Dept career summary — NNDB dossier
Walter S. McNutt Walter Scott McNutt (1887-1969) — also known as Walter S. McNutt — of Batesville, Independence County, Ark.; Jefferson, Marion County, Tex. Born in Searcy, White County, Ark., September 2, 1887. Minister; candidate for Governor of Arkansas, 1938 (Republican), 1940 (Independent), 1942; candidate in Democratic primary for Governor of Texas, 1946; Democratic candidate for U.S. Senator from Texas, 1957; president, Four States Co-Operative University. Presbyterian. Died in the Marion County Hospital, Jefferson, Marion County, Tex., November 26, 1969 (age 82 years, 85 days). Interment at Oakwood Cemetery, Jefferson, Tex.
  Relatives: Married to Mary Elizabeth Wallace.
  Epitaph: "Minister - Educator - Friend"
  See also Find-A-Grave memorial — OurCampaigns candidate detail
  Image source: Wisconsin State Journal, March 11, 1938
  Raymond Hoyt Thornton Jr. (1928-2016) — also known as Ray Thornton — of Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark.; Sheridan, Grant County, Ark. Born in Conway, Faulkner County, Ark., July 16, 1928. Democrat. Served in the U.S. Navy during the Korean conflict; lawyer; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Arkansas, 1960 (alternate), 1996; delegate to Arkansas state constitutional convention, 1969-70; Arkansas state attorney general, 1971-73; U.S. Representative from Arkansas, 1973-79, 1991-97 (4th District 1973-79, 2nd District 1991-97); candidate for U.S. Senator from Arkansas, 1978; president, Arkansas State University, 1980-84; president, University of Arkansas, 1984-90; justice of Arkansas state supreme court, 1997-2005. Church of Christ. Died in Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark., April 13, 2016 (age 87 years, 272 days). Burial location unknown.
  See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page — NNDB dossier
  John Newton Tillman (1859-1929) — also known as John N. Tillman — of Fayetteville, Washington County, Ark. Born in Springfield, Greene County, Mo., December 13, 1859. Democrat. Member of Arkansas state senate, 1888-92; prosecuting attorney, 4th District, 1892-98; district judge in Arkansas 4th District, 1900-05; president, University of Arkansas, 1905-12; U.S. Representative from Arkansas 3rd District, 1915-29. Died in 1929 (age about 69 years). Interment at Evergreen Cemetery, Fayetteville, Ark.
  Relatives: Son of Newton J. Tillman and Mary (Mullins) Tillman; married, March 4, 1885, to Tempy Walker.
  See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AR/univpres.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]