The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Indiana Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Indiana Delegates to Republican National Conventions: very incomplete!

Indiana Republican Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Adams - Allen - Bartholomew - Benton - Blackford - Boone - Brown - Carroll - Cass - Clark - Clay - Clinton - Crawford - Daviess - Dearborn - Decatur - DeKalb - Delaware - Dubois - Elkhart - Fayette - Floyd - Fountain - Franklin - Fulton - Gibson - Grant - Greene - Hamilton - Hancock - Harrison - Hendricks - Henry - Howard - Huntington - Jackson - Jasper - Jay - Jefferson - Jennings - Johnson - Knox - Kosciusko - LaPorte - LaGrange - Lake - Lawrence - Madison - Marion - Marshall - Martin - Miami - Monroe - Montgomery - Morgan - Newton - Noble - Ohio - Orange - Owen - Parke - Perry - Pike - Porter - Posey - Pulaski - Putnam - Randolph - Ripley - Rush - SAINT Joseph - Scott - Shelby - Spencer - Starke - Steuben - Sullivan - Switzerland - Tippecanoe - Tipton - Union - Vanderburgh - Vermillion - Vigo - Wabash - Warren - Warrick - Washington - Wayne - Wells - White - Whitley

Republican state chairs, 1856-2008 (Incomplete!)

John D. Defrees as of 1856-60 John W. Foster as of 1872 John C. New as of 1880-82 John K. Gowdy 1891-97 James P. Goodrich as of 1901-10 Will H. Hays as of 1914-18 Clyde A. Walb as of 1925 Elza Rogers as of 1928-31 Arch N. Bobbitt 1937-42 Ivan C. Morgan as of 1937 Ralph F. Gates as of 1941-44 William E. Jenner as of 1945 Alvin C. Cast as of 1955 Robert W. Matthews as of 1958 Robert N. Stewart as of 1964 J. Murray Clark as of 2008

Republican state vice-chairs, 1972-80 (Incomplete!)

Betty J. Rendel as of 1972-80

Members of Republican National Committee, 1866-2008 (Incomplete!)

John D. Defrees 1866-68 Cyrus M. Allen 1868-70 John Coburn 1870-72 Oliver P. Morton 1872- Winfield T. Durbin as of 1896 Harry S. New 1900-12 James P. Goodrich 1912 Joseph B. Kealing 1920-24 Dorothy Cunningham 1924 George A. Ball 1932-37 Grace B. Reynolds as of 1937-40 Ernest M. Morris as of 1940 Cecil M. Harden as of 1944-59 Ralph F. Gates 1946-50 Diane Adams as of 2008 James Bopp, Jr. as of 2008

Republican state party secretaries, 1874-1942 (Incomplete!)

De Alva S. Alexander 1874-78 Fred A. Sims 1904-06 Neil D. McCallum 1936-42 Harry C. Fenton as of 1937

Members of Republican State Central Committee, 1860-92 (Incomplete!)

Daniel D. Pratt as of 1860 James H. Jordan 1880-86 John C. Chaney as of 1884-85 Charles F. Jones as of 1886-90 Lemuel W. Royse 1886-90 Abraham L. Brick 1892 Jesse Overstreet as of 1892

Members of Republican State Committee, 1890-1918 (Incomplete!)

James A. Hemenway as of 1890 Fred A. Sims 1896-1906 Robert C. Baltzell 1914-18

Members of Republican State Executive Committee, 1860 (Incomplete!)

Abram Hendricks as of 1860

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/IN.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]