The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lake County

Lake County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Lake County (incomplete!): Rudolph M. Clay, 2005-09 — Thomas M. McDermott, Jr., as of 2012

Republican Party chairs in Lake County (incomplete!): E. L. Shortridge, as of 1905 — Walter E. Schrage, 1928-29 — Kimberly A. Krull, as of 2011-12

Lake County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Lawrence Becker
   1924, New York: Howard Gescheidler — Margaret Turner — Allen P. Twyman
   1928, Houston: Frank R. Martin — William W. McMahon
   1932, Chicago: Celesta Bielefelt — Thomas S. Boyle — Frank R. Martin — Helen R. White
   1940, Chicago: Edna G. Dexter — Michael J. Kiernan — Frank J. Migas — Nathan Vann
   1944, Chicago: James R. Boland — Edna G. Dexter — Joseph E. Finerty — A. B. Whitlock
   1948, Philadelphia: Edna G. Dexter — Frank J. Migas — Margaret Rudolph — Joseph Toth — A. B. Whitlock
   1952, Chicago: James K. Hunter — Walter M. Jeorse — Mike Kampo — Ray J. Madden — Griffith Rees — Benjamin F. Roberts
   1956, Chicago: William Bercik — Edward C. Dowling — Metro Holovachka — Walter M. Jeorse — Orval Kincaid — Ray J. Madden — Peter Mandich — Griffith Rees — Benjamin F. Roberts — Iole Vellutini
   1960, Los Angeles: George Chacharis — Edward C. Dowling — Walter M. Jeorse — Orval Kincaid — Ray J. Madden
   1964, Atlantic City: Pete Chapas — David Cohen — Marguerite Graves — Orval Kincaid — Ray J. Madden — Betty Malinka — Jessie Mitchell — John B. Nicosia — John Pers — Leslie O. Pruitt — Joseph L. Skozen — Lester Thornton — Henry Walker
   1968, Chicago: Frank Harangody — Richard G. Hatcher — Edward James — Joseph Jeneske — Orval Kincaid — Joseph E. Klen — Ray J. Madden — John B. Nicosia — Leslie O. Pruitt — Joseph Rokosz — Joseph L. Skozen — Alexander Williams
   1972, Miami Beach: Nick Angel — Martin Behnke — Anthony DeBonis — Jani Gant — Richard G. Hatcher — Joseph Jeneske — Joseph E. Klen — Tony Lenzo — Stephen Manich — Robert A. Pastrick — Leslie O. Pruitt — Vernon Smith — Jeanette Strong — Willis Zagrovich
   1996, Chicago: Kumud Aggarwal — Victoria Candelaria — James H. Fife — Judith Herrera — Irene Holinga — Marian Massengill — Michael A. Pannos — Robert A. Pastrick — Vernon Smith — Jesse M. Villalpando — Peter J. Visclosky
   2000, Los Angeles: Robert A. Pastrick — Peter J. Visclosky
   2004, Boston: Linda M. Buzinec — Rudolph M. Clay — Rogelio Dominguez — Mary L. Elgin — Rachelle Hatcher — Sally LaSota — Robert A. Pastrick — James Robinson — Stephen Stiglich — Marty Vagenas — Peter J. Visclosky
   2008, Denver: Charlie Brown — Linda M. Buzinec — Mara Candelaria Reardon — Rudolph M. Clay — Karen M. Freeman-Wilson — Thomas M. McDermott, Jr. — George Pabey — Jim Robinson — Earline Rogers
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: D. H. Hopkins
   1880, Chicago: Frank S. Bedell
   1888, Chicago: E. C. Field
   1900, Philadelphia: A. Murray Turner
   1912, Chicago: Percy A. Parry — Virgil Reiter
   1916, Chicago: H. S. Norton
   1920, Chicago: Walter E. Schrage
   1924, Cleveland: Walter E. Schrage — Oliver Starr
   1928, Kansas City: Walter J. Riley — Dudley W. Turner
   1932, Chicago: Sidmon D. McHie — Thomas W. O'Connor — Walter J. Riley — Victor K. Roberts
   1936, Cleveland: William T. Gleason — Sidmon D. McHie — James McNanary — Andrew Rooney
   1940, Philadelphia: Otto V. Gray — Sidmon D. McHie — James T. McNamara — Harold E. Miner
   1944, Chicago: Wilbur J. Hardaway — George Huish — Sidmon D. McHie — James T. McNamara — A. A. Watts
   1948, Philadelphia: Marvin G. Erlenbach — Wilbur J. Hardaway — Walter J. Riley — Philip J. Rosenbloom — Ruth T. Skewes
   1952, Chicago: F. Laurence Anderson, Jr. — Vernon C. Anderson — Frank A. Gullstrom — William F. Hodges — Walter J. Riley — Wasson J. Wilson
   1956, San Francisco: Elliott Belshaw — Margaret Combs — James DeLaurier — Otto G. Fifield — Ruth T. Skewes
   1960, Chicago: Otto G. Fifield — Henrietta Goodman — Buell R. McDaniel — Charles F. Roberts
   1972, Miami Beach: Gerrit H. Baker — Joseph J. Kotso — Mary Jane Lloyd — Theodore D. Nering, Jr.
   1988, New Orleans: Willett Jenkins
   2008, St. Paul: Navin Barot — Dana Dumezich — Daniel Dumezich — Dorothy Sue Landske — Tracy Edward Page

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/LA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]