The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Knox County

Knox County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Knox County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Knox County (incomplete!): John W. Emison, as of 1905 — Jerry Rains, as of 2011

Knox County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1856, Cincinnati: John C. Hebertt
   1864, Chicago: George E. Green — William E. Niblack
   1868, New York: William E. Niblack
   1876, St. Louis: Thomas R. Cobb
   1880, Cincinnati: William E. Niblack
   1916, St. Louis: Clelland Alsop
   1924, New York: D. Frank Culbertson — George Purcell
   1932, Chicago: Frank Oliphant
   1944, Chicago: Joe Kimmell
   1948, Philadelphia: John Wolfe
   1956, Chicago: Clarence McCormick
   1964, Atlantic City: Curtis V. Kimmell
   1972, Miami Beach: Curtis V. Kimmell — Deloras Montgomery
   1996, Chicago: John R. Gregg — Mary Lou Terrell — Jack G. Waldroup
   2000, Los Angeles: John R. Gregg — Mary Lou Terrell
   2004, Boston: Myrna Brown — Mary Lou Terrell
   2008, Denver: John R. Gregg — Mary Lou Terrell
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Cyrus M. Allen
   1868, Chicago: Cyrus M. Allen
   1888, Chicago: Smiley N. Chambers
   1896, St. Louis: B. F. Polk
   1900, Philadelphia: Thomas H. Adams
   1908, Chicago: James W. Emison
   1916, Chicago: Al M. Ford
   1924, Cleveland: Ewing R. Emison — Edw. C. Theobold
   1928, Kansas City: William C. Reed
   1932, Chicago: William H. Hill
   1936, Cleveland: V. O. Shepard
   1948, Philadelphia: Bruce C. Kixmiller
   1952, Chicago: Ewing R. Emison
   1956, San Francisco: Thomas J. Lankford
   1960, Chicago: Thomas J. Lankford
   1972, Miami Beach: Thomas J. Lankford
   2008, St. Paul: Gloria Huey
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/KX-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]