The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Joseph County

St. Joseph County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in St. Joseph County (incomplete!): M. Edward Doran, 1935-44

Republican Party chairs in St. Joseph County (incomplete!): A. G. Graham, as of 1905

St. Joseph County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1904, St. Louis: Benjamin F. Shively
   1912, Baltimore: Charles L. Goetz — Benjamin F. Shively
   1916, St. Louis: William A. McInerney
   1924, New York: Mrs. A. R. Erskine — Anthony Wolf
   1928, Houston: Joseph Scheninger
   1932, Chicago: Mason L. Petro — Joseph Shereminaer
   1940, Chicago: M. Edward Doran — John McLeay — J. Elmer Peak
   1944, Chicago: M. Edward Doran — Mrs. J. R. Dumont — J. Elmer Peak
   1948, Philadelphia: J. Elmer Peak
   1952, Chicago: Paul M. Butler — J. Elmer Peak
   1956, Chicago: Ray Berndt — Albert L. Doyle — J. Elmer Peak — Edward F. Voorde
   1960, Los Angeles: Bert Liss — Casimir J. Pajakowski — Edward F. Voorde
   1964, Atlantic City: Ideal Baldoni — John Brademas — Louis C. Chapleau — E. C. Elsasser, Jr. — Irving Smith
   1968, Chicago: Ideal Baldoni — James Bogle — John Brademas — Louis C. Chapleau — E. C. Elsasser, Jr. — Norman Murrin
   1972, Miami Beach: Ideal Baldoni — John Brademas — Helen Calvin — Louis C. Chapleau — Connie Green — William Griggs — May Mann — Jerry Miller — Odell Newburn — Freda Noble — Robert Rhodes
   1996, Chicago: Thomas Coffey — Mary K. Downes — Ramon Rodriguez
   2004, Boston: B. Patrick Bauer — Mary K. Downes — Butch Morgan
   2008, Denver: B. Patrick Bauer — Joe Donnelly — Craig R. Fry — Katherine Humphreys — Gladys Muhammad — Peter H. Mullen — Jennifer L. Peck
   2020, Milwaukee: Pete Buttigieg
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: John H. Harper
   1880, Chicago: Clement Studebaker
   1884, Chicago: Joseph D. Oliver
   1888, Chicago: Clement Studebaker
   1896, St. Louis: Abraham L. Brick
   1904, Chicago: F. H. Wurzer
   1908, Chicago: Francis E. Lambert
   1912, Chicago: Joseph D. Oliver — Clement Studebaker
   1916, Chicago: Fred A. Bryan — Vernon W. Van Fleet
   1920, Chicago: Anne S. Carlisle — Fred C. Klein
   1924, Cleveland: Anne S. Carlisle — F. A. Miller
   1928, Kansas City: A. G. Graham — Ernest M. Morris
   1932, Chicago: Ernest M. Morris
   1936, Cleveland: Ernest M. Morris — James Oliver — George Studebaker
   1940, Philadelphia: Ernest M. Morris — James Oliver
   1944, Chicago: Ernest M. Morris — Joe Otis
   1948, Philadelphia: Thomas E. Bath — Ernest M. Morris — Franklin D. Schurz
   1952, Chicago: Thomas E. Bath — Robert L. Oare
   1956, San Francisco: Robert A. Grant — Robert L. Oare
   1960, Chicago: Mary L. Oare — Franklin D. Schurz
   1972, Miami Beach: Alex Armendaris — James F. Cannaughton — O. C. Carmichael, Jr. — Judd Leighton — Richard A. Rosenthal — Joseph V. Smillie
   2004, New York: Richard Pfeil
   2008, St. Paul: Lisa Deputy — Peter Deputy — Donna Pfeil — Richard Pfeil — Samuel Wakim
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/SJ-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]