The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Vigo County

Vigo County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Vigo County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Vigo County (incomplete!): William Clark, as of 1905 — Bill Treadway, as of 2011

Vigo County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1856, Cincinnati: Grafton Fleener Cookerly
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Elisha M. Huntington — E. Read
   1864, Chicago: John G. Davis
   1868, New York: Daniel W. Voorhees
   1876, St. Louis: Bayless W. Hanna — Daniel W. Voorhees
   1880, Cincinnati: Daniel W. Voorhees
   1884, Chicago: Daniel W. Voorhees
   1888, St. Louis: Daniel W. Voorhees
   1912, Baltimore: Charles Batt — Crawford Fairbanks
   1916, St. Louis: Peter M. Foley
   1924, New York: John E. Cox — William F. Cronin
   1928, Houston: William F. Cronin — Emma M. May — R. A. Wernecke
   1932, Chicago: William F. Cronin — Richard E. Werneke
   1936, Philadelphia: William F. Cronin — John F. Kelley
   1940, Chicago: William F. Cronin — J. J. Hoover — John F. Kelley
   1944, Chicago: William F. Cronin — John F. Kelley
   1948, Philadelphia: William F. Cronin — Ralph Tucker
   1952, Chicago: William F. Cronin — Ralph Tucker
   1956, Chicago: Ralph Berry — Ralph Tucker
   1964, Atlantic City: Marsee Cox — Lavern Gibson — John Haley — Ralph Tucker
   1968, Chicago: John Haley
   1972, Miami Beach: C. Joseph Anderson — John Haley — Janet Robertson
   1996, Chicago: Robert E. Hayes — Patrick R. Ralston
   2004, Boston: Dora May Abel — Michael Ellis
   2008, Denver: Bionca D. Gambill — William Smock
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: L. A. Burnett
   1868, Chicago: Richard W. Thompson
   1876, Cincinnati: Richard W. Thompson
   1880, Chicago: William R. McKeen — Thomas H. Nelson
   1888, Chicago: S. Daniels — Jacob D. Early — Richard W. Thompson
   1896, St. Louis: Richard W. Thompson
   1900, Philadelphia: George M. Allen — Otto C. Carr
   1904, Chicago: William Dorsey — William R. McKeen
   1908, Chicago: William R. McKeen
   1912, Chicago: William E. Eppert — Jacob Finkelstein — William R. McKeen
   1916, Chicago: John L. Crawford — A. L. Pfau
   1920, Chicago: John L. Crawford
   1924, Cleveland: Clint Adamson — Horace E. Tune
   1928, Kansas City: George J. Nattkemper
   1932, Chicago: Wilson N. Cox — Sam Gray
   1936, Cleveland: Wilson N. Cox — Hughie Culbertson — C. J. Root
   1940, Philadelphia: Grace Evans — C. J. Root
   1944, Chicago: Frank R. Miller
   1948, Philadelphia: O. Keith Owens — Thomas B. Potter
   1952, Chicago: Jess C. Monroe
   1956, San Francisco: James Benham — O. Keith Owens
   1960, Chicago: Margaret Barnes — O. Keith Owens
   1972, Miami Beach: John G. Schmidt
   2004, New York: James Bopp, Jr.
   2008, St. Paul: James Bopp, Jr. — Randall Gentry
Socialist National Conventions:
   1920, Brooklyn: Madge P. Stephens
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Elisha M. Huntington

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/VI-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]