The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Alabama Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Alabama Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Alabama Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Autauga - Baldwin - Barbour - Bibb - Blount - Bullock - Butler - Calhoun - Chambers - Cherokee - Chilton - Choctaw - Clarke - Clay - Cleburne - Coffee - Colbert - Conecuh - Coosa - Covington - Crenshaw - Cullman - Dale - Dallas - DeKalb - Elmore - Escambia - Etowah - Fayette - Franklin - Geneva - Greene - Hale - Henry - Houston - Jackson - Jefferson - Lamar - Lauderdale - Lawrence - Lee - Limestone - Lowndes - Macon - Madison - Marengo - Marion - Marshall - Mobile - Monroe - Montgomery - Morgan - Perry - Pickens - Pike - Randolph - Russell - SAINT Clair - Shelby - Sumter - Talladega - Tallapoosa - Tuscaloosa - Walker - Washington - Wilcox - Winston

Democratic state chairs, 1914-2010 (Incomplete!)

Bibb Graves 1914-18 R. B. Evins as of 1923-25 E. W. Pettus as of 1929-31 John D. McQueen as of 1937 Gessner T. McCorvey as of 1939-45 Roy Mayhall 1955-66 Robert Smith Vance 1966-77 George Lewis Bailes 1977-80 John Knight 1980-84 John Baker 1984-91 Jack Hurley 1991-92 Bill Blount 1992-96 Joe Turnham 1996-98 Jack Miller 1998-2001 Redding Pitt 2001-05 Joe Turnham 2005-

Democratic state vice-chairs, 2008 (Incomplete!)

Nancy L. Worley as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

Thomas A. Walker as of 1876 William H. Forney as of 1880 Henry D. Clayton as of 1888 William D. Jelks 1912-16 Ed D. Smith 1916 Mrs. John D. McNeal as of 1920 W. T. Sanders as of 1920 Pattie Ruffner Jacobs 1920 E. W. Barret as of 1921 Walter Moore as of 1924 Mrs. Charles J. Sharp as of 1924-29 Watt T. Brown as of 1929 Mrs. A. Y. Malone as of 1937 Leon McCord as of 1937 Marion Rushton as of 1939-47 Mrs. Lennard Thomas as of 1940-57 James Smith as of 1954 Charles W. McKay, Jr. as of 1957 Bull Connor 1960-63 Ruth J. Owens as of 1963 Wiley J. Hickman as of 1976-84 Dorothy S. Carmichael as of 1984 Pat Edington as of 1984 P. Richard Hartley as of 1984 James R. Knight as of 1984 Louphemia Thomas as of 1984 Amy Burks as of 2004 Alvin Holmes as of 2004 Yvonne Kennedy as of 2004-08 Redding Pitt as of 2004 Joe L. Reed as of 2004-08 Randy B. Kelley as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1878-1967 (Incomplete!)

Tennent Lomax 1878-88 Pitt Tyson Maner as of 1937 Hobdy G. Rains as of 1967

Members of Democratic State Executive Committee, 1888-1950 (Incomplete!)

Oliver C. Wiley 1888 Sydney J. Bowie 1894-1900 J. Thomas Heflin 1896-1902 Thomas D. Samford 1896-98 William Hodges Samford 1900-05 Henry B. Steagall 1906-10 Virgil Bouldin 1907-10 Virgil Bouldin 1915-16 George Washington Jones 1920 Carroll T. Prince 1928 George M. Grant 1935-38 Carl Elliott 1942-50 Jimmy Faulkner 1942 Wallace Pruitt, Jr. as of 1946

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/AL.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]