The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Talladega County

Talladega County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Talladega County (incomplete!): Sydney J. Bowie, 1896-99 — Amy Hubbard Marlowe, as of 2003

Republican Party chairs in Talladega County: [none currently in database]

Talladega County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: J. T. Bradford — Levi W. Lawler
   1888, St. Louis: Thomas S. Plowman
   1912, Baltimore: J. Kelly Dixon
   1916, St. Louis: J. Kelly Dixon
   1920, San Francisco: Sterling P. McDonald
   1924, New York: J. W. Brown — J. Kelly Dixon
   1928, Houston: Hugh M. Comer
   1940, Chicago: E. A. McBride
   1944, Chicago: D. Hardy Riddle — Graham Wright
   1948, Philadelphia: J. B. 'Mac' McKinney — D. Hardy Riddle — Graham Wright
   1952, Chicago: Percy H. Farnham — Dexter E. Parks
   1956, Chicago: D. Hardy Riddle — B. Q. Scruggs — Phil Smith — Graham Wright
   1964, Atlantic City: J. B. 'Mac' McKinney — Bill Nichols — Joe J. Phillips
   1968, Chicago: Joe J. Phillips — R. E. Strickland
   1972, Miami Beach: John B. McKinney
   1996, Chicago: Albert Bell
   2004, Boston: Albert Bell
   2008, Denver: Albert Bell
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: Lewis E. Parsons
   1880, Chicago: George Braxdall
   1884, Chicago: George Braxdall
   1888, Chicago: George W. Parsons
   1892, Minneapolis: Thomas W. Allen
   1896, St. Louis: D. M. McClellan
   1904, Chicago: W. A. Cook
   1908, Chicago: John A. Bingham — George W. Parsons
   1912, Chicago: John A. Bingham
   1928, Kansas City: John A. Bingham
   1932, Chicago: John A. Bingham
   1944, Chicago: R. C. Stewart
   1948, Philadelphia: W. T. Stewart
   1952, Chicago: J. S. Pitts
   1956, San Francisco: Louise W. Abernethy — Tom Abernethy
   1960, Chicago: Louise W. Abernethy — Tom Abernethy
   1964, San Francisco: Louise W. Abernethy
   1972, Miami Beach: James M. Sizemore, Jr.
   2008, St. Paul: Allene Laughridge — Julie Laughridge

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/TA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]