The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mobile County

Mobile County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Mobile County (incomplete!): Pleza B. Watson, as of 2003

Republican Party chairs in Mobile County: [none currently in database]

Mobile County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1852, Baltimore: Philip Phillips
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Alexander B. Meek — John A. Winston
   1868, New York: Charles C. Langdon
   1876, St. Louis: Charles C. Langdon — John Maguire
   1892, Chicago: Joseph C. Rich
   1912, Baltimore: George J. Sullivan — Frederick I. Thompson
   1916, St. Louis: Robert Tait Ervin
   1924, New York: Joe C. Rich — Frederick I. Thompson
   1928, Houston: David H. Eddington — Frederick I. Thompson
   1936, Philadelphia: R. M. Perry — R. H. Radcliff
   1940, Chicago: C. H. Shelton
   1944, Chicago: Frank W. Boykin — G. C. Outlaw — John E. Toomey
   1948, Philadelphia: John E. Mandeville — John L. Moore — Carroll T. Prince — Henry W. Sweet
   1952, Chicago: Stuart D. Cauthon — W. O. Pape
   1956, Chicago: Stuart D. Cauthon — Tennent L. Griffin
   1964, Atlantic City: Frank O. Alonzo — Harry P. Clark — J. A. Kahalley — Pierre Pelham
   1968, Chicago: Don C. Alexander, Jr. — Harry P. Clark — Isom Clemon — Arnold Debrow — Pat Edington — Robert S. Edington — J. A. Kahalley — Joseph N. Langan — Thomas M. Marr — Pierre Pelham — R. S. Price
   1972, Miami Beach: Jack Alexander — Robert Chapman — Isom Clemon — Clarence Snowden — Edna Wade
   1984, San Francisco: Pat Edington
   1996, Chicago: William Clark — Pat Edington — Michael A. Figures — Vivian Figures — Adell Flanagan Hall — Yvonne Kennedy
   2000, Los Angeles: William Clark — Vivian Figures — Yvonne Kennedy
   2004, Boston: James E. Buskey — William Clark — Vivian Figures — Yvonne Kennedy — Patricia Lewis — Joseph C. Mitchell
   2008, Denver: William Clark — Yvonne Kennedy — Patricia Lewis
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: Philip Joseph
   1876, Cincinnati: Morris D. Wickersham
   1880, Chicago: Allen Alexander — James Gillette
   1888, Chicago: Prelate D. Barker — James T. Peterson
   1892, Minneapolis: Prelate D. Barker — Henry J. Europe — Anderson N. McEwen
   1896, St. Louis: Prelate D. Barker — A. N. Johnson — W. E. Sanders — S. S. Turner — Morris D. Wickersham
   1900, Philadelphia: Prelate D. Barker — George W. Lovejoy — Anderson N. McEwen — James T. Peterson
   1904, Chicago: Gilbert B. Deans — A. N. Johnson — Anderson N. McEwen — James T. Peterson — G. H. Wilkerson
   1908, Chicago: Clarence W. Allen — Prelate D. Barker — James T. Peterson — Walter P. Williamson
   1912, Chicago: Clarence W. Allen — Prelate D. Barker — Gilbert B. Deans — F. D. Threet
   1916, Chicago: Prelate D. Barker — E. T. Belsan — James T. Peterson
   1920, Chicago: Prelate D. Barker — James T. Peterson
   1924, Cleveland: William T. Henderson — W. P. Lewis — C. M. Sears
   1928, Kansas City: Samuel Boyd Adams — Alex C. Birch — J. A. Stafford — Joseph C. Swann
   1932, Chicago: Samuel Boyd Adams — William H. Armbrecht — Alex C. Birch — Joseph C. Swann
   1936, Cleveland: Samuel Boyd Adams — William H. Armbrecht — J. A. Stafford
   1940, Philadelphia: William H. Armbrecht — A. D. Henderson — John Earl Paterson
   1944, Chicago: Richard H. Coffin — Almur S. Whiting
   1948, Philadelphia: Charles H. Hembree — James L. May
   1952, Chicago: James L. Mayes — Marvin Mostellar — Almur S. Whiting
   1956, San Francisco: J. Gordon Bennett — Wallace L. Johnson — William R. Johnson — Marvin Mostellar
   1960, Chicago: J. Gordon Bennett — Arthur Isaacson — Mrs. Raymond J. Miller — Marvin Mostellar — Charles S. White-Spunner, Jr.
   1964, San Francisco: Mrs. Palmer Bedsole — Mrs. Clyde Forman — Mrs. Raymond J. Miller — Marvin Mostellar — Cabell Outlaw
   1972, Miami Beach: Ann Bedsole — O. H. 'Ollie' Delchamps, Jr. — Jack Edwards
   2004, New York: Chip Brown — George Callahan — H. L. 'Sonny' Callahan — Victor Gaston — Jerry Lathan — Jim Zeigler
   2008, St. Paul: Todd Burkhalter — Landra Day — Carter H. Drane — Mac McCafferty — Eliska Morgan
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/MO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]