The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Calhoun County

Calhoun County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Calhoun County (incomplete!): Jack Draper, as of 2003

Republican Party chairs in Calhoun County (incomplete!): Glenn Andrews, 1952

Calhoun County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: John B. Knox — M. B. Wellborn
   1916, St. Louis: J. S. Mooring
   1924, New York: Thomas E. Kilby
   1928, Houston: Harry M. Ayers — D. C. Cooper — Hugh D. Merrill
   1936, Philadelphia: Hugh D. Merrill — Ruby Price Robinson — R. Clarence Williams — F. X. Woolf
   1940, Chicago: Wilbur M. Salter — Hemphill G. Whiteside — C. H. Young
   1944, Chicago: Cecil W. Hastings — Hugh D. Merrill, Jr. — Wilbur M. Salter
   1948, Philadelphia: Leslie C. King — Tom C. King
   1952, Chicago: H. R. Batchelor — Tom Blake Hole — Ethel Ledford McPherson — Hugh D. Merrill, Jr. — Lafayette L. Patterson
   1956, Chicago: T. L. Arnold — H. R. Batchelor — Hugh D. Merrill — Ernest Stone — Charles Thomason — W. S. 'Bill' Weatherly
   1964, Atlantic City: Hugh D. Merrill
   1968, Chicago: George K. Wingard
   1972, Miami Beach: George K. Wingard
   1996, Chicago: Barbara B. Boyd
   2000, Los Angeles: Barbara Bigsby-Boyd
   2004, Boston: Barbara B. Boyd — James Dunn — Doris A. Stallworth-Barron
   2008, Denver: Barbara B. Boyd — Doris A. Stallworth-Barron
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: Joseph W. Burke — J. A. De Armon
   1880, Chicago: Isaac Frank
   1888, Chicago: William J. Stevens
   1892, Minneapolis: Charles P. Bland — Wiley A. Hudson — Stephen N. Noble
   1896, St. Louis: Thomas G. Dunn — Wiley A. Hudson — William J. Stevens
   1900, Philadelphia: Lytton Green — Lansing T. Smith
   1904, Chicago: W. F. Tebbets
   1908, Chicago: Lansing T. Smith
   1912, Chicago: Fred Noble — Henry F. Williamson
   1920, Chicago: Charles R. Barker
   1924, Cleveland: A. R. Noble
   1932, Chicago: A. H. Arnold
   1936, Cleveland: A. H. Arnold
   1940, Philadelphia: O. D. Beard
   1948, Philadelphia: Luther L. Pond
   1952, Chicago: Lane Thweatt
   1964, San Francisco: Glenn Andrews — Mrs. Russell Leonard
   1972, Miami Beach: Glenn Andrews
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/CA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]