The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Etowah County

Etowah County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Etowah County (incomplete!): William R. Willard, as of 2003

Republican Party chairs in Etowah County: [none currently in database]

Etowah County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: R. B. Kyle
   1916, St. Louis: A. R. Brindley — J. C. Inzer — C. A. VerBeck
   1920, San Francisco: L. L. Herzberg
   1924, New York: O. R. Hood
   1928, Houston: J. B. Wadsworth
   1936, Philadelphia: E. G. Pilcher
   1940, Chicago: E. O. McCord — H. S. Patterson, Jr.
   1944, Chicago: Roy D. McCord — R. L. Miller — Roy F. Parker — E. L. Roberts
   1948, Philadelphia: Carolyn P. Coots — Roy D. McCord — Roy F. Parker — E. L. Roberts
   1952, Chicago: Wesley W. Acee — James B. Allen — Cary L. Graham — Leslie C. King — Hobdy G. Rains — Theo Steed
   1956, Chicago: C. G. Allen — Cary L. Graham — Wiley J. Hickman — Leslie C. King — E. L. Roberts
   1964, Atlantic City: Bill Hardin — H. A. Houze — Ethel M. McCord — Roy D. McCord — J. Harold Morris
   1968, Chicago: Sarah D. Gallahar — H. A. Houze — Ethel M. McCord — Roy D. McCord — J. Harold Morris — Hobdy G. Rains — J. W. Wise
   1972, Miami Beach: Stanley Harris — Robert Hitt — Albert Rains
   1976, New York: Wiley J. Hickman
   1980, New York: Wiley J. Hickman
   1996, Chicago: Barbara Bryant — Bobby Junkins — Jack Page
   2000, Los Angeles: Barbara Bryant
   2004, Boston: Barbara Bryant
   2008, Denver: Robert Avery — Jack Floyd — Randy B. Kelley
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: P. J. Smith
   1892, Minneapolis: Edward M. Dale
   1896, St. Louis: C. D. Alexander
   1908, Chicago: Joseph Brice
   1912, Chicago: M. M. Davidson — R. Oscar Noojin
   1916, Chicago: R. Oscar Noojin — Thomas H. Stephens
   1924, Cleveland: Joseph R. McCleskey — B. Lonnie Noojin
   1928, Kansas City: B. Lonnie Noojin — John J. Stephens
   1932, Chicago: B. Lonnie Noojin
   1940, Philadelphia: B. Lonnie Noojin
   1944, Chicago: Cicero Davis — J. W. Holland — B. Lonnie Noojin — Mell E. Trammell
   1948, Philadelphia: B. Lonnie Noojin — James Pruett
   1952, Chicago: Mrs. B. L. Noojin, Sr.
   1956, San Francisco: E. A. Isbell
   1960, Chicago: Millard Thomas — R. M. Walker
   1972, Miami Beach: Ada Lee Hood — Edwin Rudd, Jr.
   2004, New York: Terry Dunn — Blaine Galliher
   2008, St. Paul: Connie Butler — Mack Butler — Alicia Dunn — Terry Dunn — Barbara Klein
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/ET-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]