The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hidalgo County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Hidalgo County

Index to Locations

  • McAllen Roselawn Cemetery
  • McAllen Valley Memorial Gardens
  • Mission Rio Grande Valley State Veterans Cemetery

    Roselawn Cemetery
    McAllen, Hidalgo County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Oliver Percy Archer (1869-1930) — also known as O. P. Archer — of McAllen, Hidalgo County, Tex. Born in Garland, Tipton County, Tenn., November 29, 1869. Mayor of McAllen, Tex., 1913-23. Member, Rotary. Died May 3, 1930 (age 60 years, 155 days). Interment at Roselawn Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married to Clara Hill (1879-1958).
      Archer Park, McAllen, Texas, is named for him.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Valley Memorial Gardens
    3605 North Taylor Road
    McAllen, Hidalgo County, Texas
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      Eligio de la Garza II (1927-2017) — also known as E. 'Kika' de la Garza — of Mission, Hidalgo County, Tex.; McAllen, Hidalgo County, Tex. Born in Mercedes, Hidalgo County, Tex., September 22, 1927. Democrat. Served in the U.S. Navy during World War II; served in the U.S. Army during the Korean conflict; member of Texas state house of representatives, 1952-64; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Texas, 1964, 1996; U.S. Representative from Texas 15th District, 1965-97. Catholic. Hispanic ancestry. Member, American Legion; Catholic War Veterans; Kiwanis; Delta Theta Phi. Died in McAllen, Hidalgo County, Tex., March 13, 2017 (age 89 years, 172 days). Interment at Valley Memorial Gardens.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page — Find-A-Grave memorial
      Willard Everett Townsend (1904-1985) — also known as Willard E. Townsend — of Lincoln, Lancaster County, Neb. Born in Beatrice, Gage County, Neb., April 23, 1904. Democrat. Laundry business; chair of Lancaster County Democratic Party, 1936-40; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Nebraska, 1952 (member, Credentials Committee), 1956 (delegation vice-chair); Nebraska Democratic state chair, 1956. Christian. Member, Freemasons. Died in Hidalgo County, Tex., May 27, 1985 (age 81 years, 34 days). Interment at Valley Memorial Gardens.
      Relatives: Son of Andrew Jackson Townsend and Nellie (Dewey) Townsend; married, August 15, 1925, to Katherine Elizabeth Fellows.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Rio Grande Valley State Veterans Cemetery
    Mission, Hidalgo County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Bernard S. Kahn (1921-2007) — of Oakland County, Mich. Born June 18, 1921. Lawyer; candidate in primary for circuit judge in Michigan 6th Circuit, 1966. Died December 1, 2007 (age 86 years, 166 days). Interment at Rio Grande Valley State Veterans Cemetery.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/HG-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]