The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Clay County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Clay County

Index to Locations

  • Private or family graveyards
  • Garrard Garrard Cemetery
  • Manchester Beech Creek Cemetery
  • Manchester Manchester Memorial Gardens

    Private or family graveyard
    Clay County, Kentucky
    Politicians buried here:
      John Daugherty White (1849-1920) — also known as John D. White — of Manchester, Clay County, Ky. Born in Kentucky, 1849. U.S. Representative from Kentucky, 1875-77, 1881-85 (9th District 1875-77, 1881-83, 10th District 1883-85); defeated, 1896 (Independent), 1898 (Independent Republican), 1903 (Independent); member of Kentucky state house of representatives, 1879-80; delegate to Republican National Convention from Kentucky, 1880. Died in 1920 (age about 71 years). Interment in a private or family graveyard.
      Relatives: Nephew of John White (1802-1845).
      Political family: White family of Kentucky.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Garrard Cemetery
    Garrard, Clay County, Kentucky
    Politicians buried here:
      Theodore T. Garrard — of Kentucky. Candidate for U.S. Representative from Kentucky 6th District, 1851. Interment at Garrard Cemetery.

    Beech Creek Cemetery
    Manchester, Clay County, Kentucky
    Politicians buried here:
      Bertram Thomas Combs (1911-1991) — also known as Bert T. Combs — of Prestonsburg, Floyd County, Ky. Born in Manchester, Clay County, Ky., August 13, 1911. Democrat. Lawyer; served in the U.S. Army during World War II; Judge, Kentucky Court of Appeals, 1951-55; state court judge in Kentucky, 1957-59; Governor of Kentucky, 1959-63; defeated, 1955, 1971; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Kentucky, 1960, 1964; member of Democratic National Committee from Kentucky, 1966; Judge of U.S. Court of Appeals for the 6th Circuit, 1967-70. Baptist. Member, American Bar Association; Freemasons; Shriners; Order of the Coif; Phi Delta Phi. Drowned when his automobile was washed from the roadway into the Red River, during a flood, near Rosslyn, Powell County, Ky., December 4, 1991 (age 80 years, 113 days). Interment at Beech Creek Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Stephen Gibson Combs and Martha (Jones) Combs; married, June 15, 1937, to Mabel Hall.
      The Bert T. Combs Mountain Parkway, which runs through Clark, Powell, Wolfe, Morgan, and Magoffin counties in Kentucky, is named for him.  — Bert T. Combs Lake, in Clay County, Kentucky, is named for him.
      See also National Governors Association biography — NNDB dossier

    Manchester Memorial Gardens
    Manchester, Clay County, Kentucky
    Politicians buried here:
      Thomas Lambert Britton (1881-1961) — also known as Thomas L. Britton — of Oneida, Clay County, Ky. Born in 1881. Republican. Member of Kentucky state house of representatives, 1928-31, 1950-53 (85th District 1928-31, 91st District 1950-53). Died June 28, 1961 (age about 79 years). Interment at Manchester Memorial Gardens.
      Relatives: Married to Nell Hignite (1894-1978).
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/CY-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]