The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Kentucky Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Kentucky Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Kentucky Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Allen - Campbell - Jefferson - Jessamine - Kenton - McCracken - Scott - Woodford

Democratic state chairs, 1894-2008 (Incomplete!)

John D. Carroll 1894-96 P. P. Johnson 1896-1900 Allie W. Young 1900-06 Lewis McQuown 1906-10 Henry R. Prewitt 1910-14 R. H. Vansant 1914-16 S. W. Hager 1916-18 Charles A. Hardin 1918-32 Robert Humphreys as of 1937-39 J. Lyter Donaldson as of 1945 Robert Humphreys as of 1949-58 Steve Gold 2003-04 Jennifer A. Moore as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 2008 (Incomplete!)

Nathan Smith as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1872-2008 (Incomplete!)

Henry D. McHenry as of 1872-90 Thomas H. Sherley 1894 Urey Woodson 1896-1912 John C. C. Mayo 1912-14 Urey Woodson 1916-18 William B. Haldeman 1918-20 Johnson N. Camden as of 1920-21 Ethel Cantrill as of 1920 Urey Woodson 1924-28 Alice Mayo as of 1929 J. E. Robinson as of 1929 Ruby Laffoon as of 1936 Albert B. Chandler as of 1939 Mrs. Sam L. Connor as of 1939-40 Keen Johnson 1940-48 Susan S. Pollard as of 1954 Lawrence W. Wetherby as of 1954 Julia Hoge Spencer Ardery as of 1956-60 Mrs. J. Murray Blue as of 1963 Wilson W. Wyatt as of 1963 Bert T. Combs as of 1966 Moretta L. Bosley as of 2004-08 Bill Garmer as of 2004 W. Terry McBrayer as of 2004-08 Kerry S. Morgan as of 2004 Jo Etta Y. Wickliffe as of 2004-08

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937-60 (Incomplete!)

Keen Johnson as of 1937 Lawrence W. Wetherby 1948-51 Harry Lee Waterfield 1956-60

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1884-2004 (Incomplete!)

Members of Democratic State Executive Committee, 1903-2004 (Incomplete!)

Arthur B. Rouse 1903-10 Annabelle Lane Vincent 1970 Jeff Noble as of 2004

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/KY.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]