The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Kentucky Delegation to the
1980 Democratic National Convention

Delegates (may be incomplete!)
Bill Alverson, Paris - Marjorie S. Asher, Pineville - Robert A. Babbage, Jr., Lexington - Al Bennett, Louisville - N. P. Bingham, Harlan - Tom Blankenship, Crab Orchard - Edward T. Breathitt - John Y. Brown, Jr., Lexington - John Y. Brown, Sr., Lexington - Cheri Bryant-Hamilton, Louisville - Thomas F. Burke, Louisville - Joe B. Campbell, Bowling Green - M. Ronald Christopher, Murray - Judy Cline, Franklin - Martha Layne Collins - Elaine Costello, Cold Spring - Joyce Cummins, Dry Ridge - Drexell R. Davis, Frankfort - Jeanne Dawahare, Lexington - James O. Day, Morehead - Sharon Bostick Fisher, Owensboro - Luther Ford, Browder - Alva A. Hollon, Jr., Hazard - Laura Hollon, Hazard - Nelle P. Horlander, Louisville - Charles I. Horton, Louisville - Alberta D. Johnson, Catlettsburg - William Gordon Kenton, Lexington - June Lee, Louisville - Arlene Leonard, Harrodsburg - Billy S. Lewis, Carrollton - S. H. Lindon, Hazard - Brian Lunde, Lexington - Carol Mang, Covington - J. B. Marston, Frankfort - John C. May, Marion - John A. McCoy, Madisonville - Frances J. Mills - Larry E. Moore, Owensboro - William Keith Omer, Clay - Billye Pope, Lexington - Ginger Reed, Paducah - Josephine D. Richardson, Whitesburg - Nancy Ovesen Sanders, Hodgenville - Ernesto Scorsone, Lexington - Dale Sights, Henderson - Tommie Smith, Louisville - Marie R. Turner, Jackson - Wendy Walker, Nortonville - Carol J. Wright, Lexington

Alternates (may be incomplete!)
Charlene Adkins, Pikeville - Maurice Clark Alsop, Georgetown - Ann S. Bardwell, Lexington - Terrell L. Black, Louisville - Emily C. Boone, Louisville - Betty Brien, Benton - Jessie Carver, Scottsville - Mary John Celliti, Louisville - D. Jane Charmoli, Louisville - William E. Cofield, Frankfort - Blaine S. Correll, Somerset - C. Leslie Dawson, Radcliff - James F. Dinwiddie, Leitchfield - Thelma Eckert, Kirksey - Laurel Lee Falmlen, Lexington - Nancy H. Farmer, Ravenna - Tim Firkins, Louisville - Leonard W. Gray, Sr., Louisville - Owen C. Hammons, Louisville - Lanny R. Holbrook, Fort Mitchell - Stephen G. Horner, Louisville - Margy Johns, Somerset - Evelyn M. Krislov, Lexington - Larry M. Leslie, Prestonsburg - Stephen J. Maloney, Franklin - Linda McGuire, Grayson - Nancy Oliver Roberts, Rockfield - Martha Dell Sanders, Paducah - Ramona C. Sima, Louisville - Gloria Staples, Lawrenceburg - Dixie L. Swift, Ashland - William A. Usher, Paducah - Patricia A. Vincent, Sacramento - Tom Watson, Louisville - M. M. Winstead, Ewing

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/1980/KY.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]