The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Campbell County

Campbell County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Campbell County (incomplete!): Kenneth L. Mullikin, as of 2004

Republican Party chairs in Campbell County: [none currently in database]

Campbell County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: H. D. Helm
   1880, Cincinnati: Robert W. Nelson
   1916, St. Louis: Lawrence J. Diskin — William Schlueter
   1920, San Francisco: James Crutchfield — Nora Layne
   1928, Houston: Joseph A. Cassidy — Jacob Roll
   1932, Chicago: George J. Herold
   1936, Philadelphia: Aubrey Barbour
   1944, Chicago: Harry Guilfoyle — Mrs. B. J. Skees — Evelyn Wichman
   1948, Philadelphia: Henry Seibert — William J. Wise
   1952, Chicago: Al Whitehouse — William J. Wise
   1956, Chicago: Ed Buten — Henry Hayes — A. J. Jolly
   1960, Los Angeles: Ray Murphy — Henry Seibert
   1964, Atlantic City: Lambert Hehl, Jr. — James E. Murphy — James R. Poston
   1972, Miami Beach: Gerald Losey — James R. Poston
   1980, New York: Elaine Costello
   1996, Chicago: Sue Teegarden
   2008, Denver: Terry L. Mann
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: William S. Bailey — James R. Whittemore
   1860, Chicago: Charles Hendley — James R. Whittemore
   1880, Chicago: E. E. Wood
   1884, Chicago: L. R. Hawthorne — James A. Scarlett
   1896, St. Louis: W. J. Lyons
   1904, Chicago: William H. Dyer
   1908, Chicago: Alfred Gowling — John H. Meyer
   1912, Chicago: William A. Burkamp
   1916, Chicago: William A. Burkamp
   1920, Chicago: William A. Burkamp
   1924, Cleveland: William A. Burkamp
   1928, Kansas City: William A. Burkamp — Arthur F. Sherer
   1932, Chicago: Ellsworth Regenstein
   1936, Cleveland: Alfred M. Caldwell — Leonard J. Crawford
   1940, Philadelphia: Odis W. Bertelsman — Alfred M. Caldwell
   1944, Chicago: Odis W. Bertelsman — Alfred M. Caldwell
   1948, Philadelphia: Odis W. Bertelsman — Alfred M. Caldwell
   1952, Chicago: George J. Kaufmann — Stanley C. Moebus
   1956, San Francisco: George J. Kaufmann — J. Harold Reed
   1972, Miami Beach: Robert T. Nau — Arthur L. Schmidt
   2004, New York: Jim Bunning — Barbara Haas
   2008, St. Paul: Jim Bunning — Kevin Sell
   2012, Tampa: Jim Bunning
Socialist National Conventions:
   1920, Brooklyn: Martin A. Brinkman
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/CA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]