The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Bourbon County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Bourbon County

Index to Locations

  • Bronson Bronson Cemetery
  • Fort Scott Evergreen Cemetery
  • Near Fort Scott Maple Grove Cemetery
  • Mapleton Stevenson Cemetery

    Bronson Cemetery
    Bronson, Bourbon County, Kansas
    Politicians buried here:
      Jonathan McMillan Davis (1871-1943) — also known as Jonathan M. Davis — of Bronson, Bourbon County, Kan. Born in Bronson, Bourbon County, Kan., April 27, 1871. Democrat. Farmer; member of Kansas state house of representatives, 1905-13; member of Kansas state senate, 1913-17; Governor of Kansas, 1923-25; defeated, 1920, 1924, 1926, 1936 (primary), 1938 (Independent); delegate to Democratic National Convention from Kansas, 1924 (member, Committee on Permanent Organization); candidate for Democratic nomination for President, 1924; candidate for U.S. Senator from Kansas, 1930. Methodist. Member, Freemasons; Odd Fellows; Knights of Pythias; Eagles; Moose; Elks; Kiwanis. Arrested the day after his gubernatorial term expired; indicted twice for bribery; tried and acquitted both times. Died June 27, 1943 (age 72 years, 61 days). Interment at Bronson Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Jonathan McMillan Davis and Eve (Holeman) Davis; married, September 26, 1894, to Mollie Purdom; married, December 16, 1931, to Mary E. (Winston) Raymond.
      See also National Governors Association biography

    Evergreen Cemetery
    Fort Scott, Bourbon County, Kansas
    Politicians buried here:
      David Perley Lowe (1823-1882) — also known as David P. Lowe — of Fort Scott, Bourbon County, Kan. Born near Utica, Oneida County, N.Y., August 22, 1823. Republican. Lawyer; member of Kansas state senate, 1863-64; district judge in Kansas, 1867-71, 1879-82; U.S. Representative from Kansas at-large, 1871-75; chief justice of Utah territorial supreme court, 1875. Died in Fort Scott, Bourbon County, Kan., April 10, 1882 (age 58 years, 231 days). Interment at Evergreen Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Maple Grove Cemetery
    Near Fort Scott, Bourbon County, Kansas
    Politicians buried here:
      William Alexander McIntosh (1833-1912) — of Barnsville, Bourbon County, Kan. Born in Grant, Herkimer County, N.Y., March 18, 1833. Served in the Union Army during the Civil War; member of Kansas state legislature, 1866-67. Methodist. Member, Odd Fellows. Died in 1912 (age about 79 years). Interment at Maple Grove Cemetery.

    Stevenson Cemetery
    Mapleton, Bourbon County, Kansas
    Politicians buried here:
      Charles Welch Libby (1819-1885) — also known as Charles W. Libby — of Roscoe, Goodhue County, Minn. Born in Gray, Cumberland County, Maine, February 8, 1819. Member of Minnesota state house of representatives District 6, 1857-58. Died in Xenia, Bourbon County, Kan., August 5, 1885 (age 66 years, 178 days). Interment at Stevenson Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Moses Libby and Sarah 'Sally' (Lawrence) Libby; married, July 8, 1847, to Mary Jane Mayberry; third cousin once removed of Fred Melville Libby; fourth cousin of Artemas Libbey, Isaac Libbey and Eugene Harvey Libby; fourth cousin once removed of Augustine B. Libby, Edward Everett Libby and Arthur Leroy Nason.
      Political family: Libby-Felt family of Maine (subset of the Four Thousand Related Politicians).
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial — Minnesota Legislator record

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/BO-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]