The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Virginia Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Virginia Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Virginia Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Accomack - Frederick - Loudoun - Mathews

Democratic state chairs, 1891-2012 (Incomplete!)

J. Taylor Ellyson as of 1891-1916 Harry F. Byrd 1922-25 J. Murray Hooker as of 1928-39 Horace H. Edwards 1940-48 G. Alvin Massenburg as of 1949-50 Tom H. Blanton as of 1955-58 Watkins M. Abbitt 1964-70 Clifton A. Woodrum III as of 1972-76 Owen B. Pickett as of 1980-82 Mark Warner 1993-95 Emily Couric as of 2001 C. Richard Cranwell as of 2008 Brian Moran 2010-12

Democratic state vice-chairs, 2008 (Incomplete!)

Jennifer L. McClellan as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

John Goode, Jr. as of 1876 Robert A. Coghill as of 1880 John S. Barbour, Jr. as of 1884-92 J. Taylor Ellyson as of 1912-16 Carter Glass as of 1916-28 Mrs. Beverly B. Munford as of 1920 Harry F. Byrd as of 1928-40 Mrs. R. C. Watts as of 1939 E. R. Combs 1940 Mrs. John Garland Pollard 1940-68 Sidney S. Kellam as of 1964-67 Kerry J. Donley as of 2004 Barbara Easterling as of 2004-08 Alexis Herman as of 2004-08 Jerrauld Jones as of 2004 Miguel Lausell as of 2004 Daniel G. LeBlanc as of 2004 Terry McAuliffe as of 2004 Jennifer L. McClellan as of 2004 Mame Reiley as of 2004-08 Susan Swecker as of 2004-08 Joe Johnson as of 2008 Tim Kaine as of 2008 James R. Leaman as of 2008 Lionell Spruill as of 2008 Jerome Wiley=Segovia as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937 (Incomplete!)

M. A. Hutchinson as of 1937

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1948-64 (Incomplete!)

Wrendo M. Godwin as of 1948 Charles R. Fenwick 1952-64 E. Almer Ames, Jr. 1956

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/VA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]