The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Virginia Delegation to the
1996 Democratic National Convention

Delegation chair: Chuck Robb

Delegates (may be incomplete!)
Kathleen Adams, Reston - Lee Arzt, Richmond - Russell N. Axsom, Hampton - Robert Barclay IV, Portsmouth - Lee Bass, Norfolk - Sheila J. Baynes, Danville - Pixie Bell, Alexandria - Don Beyer - Sumiko Biderman, McLean - Morris Biller, Chantilly - David Blair, Max Meadows - Rick Boucher, Abingdon - Sandra W. Brandt, Virginia Beach - Jeffrey Breit, Virginia Beach - Andrew A. Brindisi, Centreville - Del M. Mauhrine Brown, Hopewell - Wayne F. Buckle, Falls Church - Mary Margaret Cash, Lynchburg - Earnestine Clark, Richmond - Marjorie M. Clark, near Richmond - W. Raymond Colley, Alexandria - Lynne Cooper, Midlothian - Carolyn Davis, Blackstone - Alan A. Diamonstein, Newport News - Douglas H. Dority, McLean - Abbi Easter, near Richmond - Barbara Easterling - Adam Ebbin, Alexandria - Carl U. Eggleston, Farmville - Harietta Eley, Norfolk - Nancy Fitzgerald, Nokesville - Michael Flanary, Barhamsville - Ron Freeman, Falmouth - Norman J. Fuller, Virginia Beach - Keith Geiger, Warrenton - Gloria Haislip, Fancy Gap - Franklin P. Hall, Richmond - Deloris C. Hampton, Dale City - Will Harvey, Charlottesville - Sara Hood, Richmond - Margo E. Horner, Arlington - Billy Isbell, Woodbridge - Cheri W. James, near Richmond - Jean Jensen, Alexandria - Grindly Johnson, Chesapeake - Vickie Johnson-Scott, Williamsburg - Dwight C. Jones, Richmond - Herschel Kanter, Arlington - Jim Kasica, Arlington - Susan Kellom, Arlington - Jeffery Kelso, Richmond - Jeanette C. Kern, Seaford - Paul Krizek, Alexandria - James R. Leaman, Glen Allen - Daniel G. LeBlanc, Mechanicsville - Joseph Lindsey, Norfolk - Tish Llaneza, Hampton - L. Louise Lucas, Portsmouth - Thurgood Marshall, Jr., Falls Church - Dana Martin, Roanoke - Michael L. Mays, Vinton - Ora S. McCoy, Appomattox - Yvonne Miller, Norfolk - James P. Moran, Jr., Alexandria - Julia Norrell, Green Bay - Mary L. Nuckolls, Galax - Anne Marie Palmer-Harper, Harrisonburg - Fred W. Parker, Abingdon - Lewis F. Payne, Jr. - Owen B. Pickett, Virginia Beach - Charlome Pierce, Surry - Susan Prokop, Arlington - Toddy Puller, Mt. Vernon - Joanna E. Reagan - Mame Reiley, Alexandria - Joseph L. Rhames, Charlottesville - Chuck Robb - Nancy Rodrigues, Surry - David Roland, Falls Church - Robert C. Scott, Newport News - Norman Sisisky - Jeroline E. Smalls, Richmond - Leah Stith, Portsmouth - John Sturdivant - Henry W. Tieleman, Riner - Donnie Tuck, Newport News - Lynnell P. Tyree, near Richmond - Manuel L. Valesquez, Manassas - Sandra Warden, Tazewell - Horace P. Webb, Petersburg - Marionette Wiggins, Martinsville - William Wiley, Powhatan - Rita Williams, Matoaca - Eve Wilson, McLean - Sue Wrenn, Alexandria - Linda F. Wyatt, Roanoke - Delia T. Zisman, Falmouth

Alternates (may be incomplete!)
Josephine Blue, Charlottesville - Rose Chu, Falls Church - Ann T. Fallon, Norfolk - M. C. Merni Fitzgerald, Falls Church - Page A. Matherly, Penhook - David E. Midkiff, Chesapeake - Susan Morgan, Glen Allen - Christine Purdie, Hampton - Myke Reid, Alexandria - Julia Nell Shortt, Richmond - Douglas Thompson, Glen Allen - Wayne Walters, Dahlgren - Charles M. Wood, Lynchburg

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/1996/VA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]